2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
46 members (Cominut, Burkhard, 1200s, clothearednincompo, akse0435, busa, 36251, Davidnewmind, Dfrankjazz, 5 invisible), 1,240 guests, and 259 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#2147473 09/10/13 10:25 AM
S
OP Offline
S
I am a professional pianist and want to compose a piece for strings quartet.

I havent got too much knowledge about composition as composers here have.

NEED BOOK NAME SUGGESTIONS TO LEARN.

THANKS!

Last edited by saratogaUSA; 09/10/13 10:47 AM.
P
9000 Post Club Member
9000 Post Club Member
P
...I suspect a troll. Surely a professional musician would not need to go onto the Internet and cry inarticulately for advice on a matter like this.

I'll wait to see what others say.

Regards,

Polyphonist
S
OP Offline
S
i said pro pianist, not COMPOSER and this is not a "cry"

you are right, professional musicians goes to a library and search unconsciously for their needs out of hundreds of books and waste a lot of time while doing that.

6000 Post Club Member
6000 Post Club Member
Saratoga,

It's quite difficult to actually give you any meaningful reply... At least I can't, cause I don't know any "101 course on how to compose".

Usually what people do is that they start copying other works and ideas and slowly the develop their own style... And of course in order to compose for strings you need to know what strings can and can't play.

That said would you like to explain a little better what you feel is missing (your shortcomings) and what you're looking for?