2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
56 members (bcalvanese, 1957, 7sheji, Aylin, Barly, accordeur, 36251, 20/20 Vision, Adam Reynolds, 8 invisible), 1,401 guests, and 308 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#2152170 09/17/13 01:12 PM
J
OP Offline
J
Hello,

I love Tom Waits & the way he plays piano.

Does anyone have info on how he learned? Is he classically trained?

If I were to take lessons and be able to play at a similar level would I choose a classical teacher or what?

Thanks!

Gold Subscriber
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Gold Subscriber
This article indicates that he was self-taught :

Tom Waits

Regards,

BruceD
- - - - -
Estonia 190
J
OP Offline
J
Any recommendation, what would be the best approach to learning a similar style to his? Any specific method or approach? Thank you.

Gold Subscriber
Gold Subscriber
You might think of posting your question in the Pianist Corner - Non Classical. You may get more informed responses there.

Regards,

BruceD
- - - - -
Estonia 190
5000 Post Club Member
5000 Post Club Member
Autodidacts are common on guitar, a rarity on piano (at least, those of any accomplishment--- we've all heard pounders who never studied).

This may suggest a learning path for the OP. I do know accomplished pianists who have used the technique of listening to recordings of a favorite player, and then have tried to duplicate what they heard. Tom said, himself, "I didn't just marry a beautiful woman, I married a record collection."