2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
70 members (AlkansBookcase, AndyOnThePiano2, Charles Cohen, BillS728, 36251, anotherscott, Bellyman, 11 invisible), 2,109 guests, and 312 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 94 of 190 1 2 92 93 94 95 96 189 190
Hi Everybody -

Just a quick introduction and hello to all the people on the AIO Book 2 thread. I recently finished up Book 1 and am now moving on to Book 2. I am an adult beginner, 44 yo, never played piano before last May, when I picked up Book 1. Since September I have been taking lessons from my son's teacher.

My son is 12 and has been playing since he was 7 or so. Even though it can be frustrating and tedious at times to practice every day, we both love piano and it is a great bonding thing for us. My son is just finishing up Fur Elise (the full version) for a recital this Saturday, and it is so beautiful just to listen to him play. He's not the second coming of Horowitz or whatever, but he is my boy, and listening to him play Beethoven with soul and feeling is about as good as it gets for me.

Anyway, my teacher prefers Piano Adventures and John Thompson's Modern method over the Alfred Adult, but she is fine with me keeping in the Alfred Adult books if I want to. I am in PA level 3A, and half way through the Thompson book 1.

In the AIO Book 2, I am just getting started with Guantanamera, and unlike the other recent postings, I love that song. I like the way it swings. [Also it reminds me of a funny skit I saw one time on Saturday night live, featuring Dan Ackroyd (?) - he stuffs his pant leg... I tell you he stuffs his pant leg... :)]