2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
63 members (AlkansBookcase, Barry_Braksick, danno858, BadSanta, danbot3, Animisha, Burkhard, 14 invisible), 1,836 guests, and 283 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
B
BDB Offline OP
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
OP Offline
B

Semipro Tech
8000 Post Club Member
8000 Post Club Member
I read that too, and as a musician, I'm inclined to to think "well of course music is the key to success. duh!"

But, thinking about it more critically, they forgot to discuss the possibility that people who are more likely to succeed might be more likely to play an instrument, or that the qualities needed to be successful just happen to be the same qualities needed to be a consistent hobby-musician....

So although I found the article compelling, it seems they've forgotten the most elementary lesson of analysis: don't confuse correlation with causation.

Last edited by ShiroKuro; 10/13/13 01:54 PM. Reason: can't type

Started piano June 1999.
Proud owner of a Yamaha C2

[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]
D
500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member
D
perfect, ShiroKuro :thumbsup:

unlocked by keys
wordless poetry sings free
- piano music -

Unobtanium Supporter until Jun 020 2020
3000 Post Club Member

3000 Post Club Member
One point the author makes well is that music can demonstrate to the young better than most other courses of study the linkage between disciplined, focused study and success. Realizing that, some music students then are better able to transfer that lesson to other endeavors.

It may not work that way for everyone, but it certainly did for me.