2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
63 members (AlkansBookcase, Barry_Braksick, danno858, BadSanta, danbot3, Animisha, Burkhard, 14 invisible), 1,836 guests, and 283 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
C
Celdor Offline OP
OP Offline
C
Hi Guys,

I have just bought Yamaha P105B and would like to start a proper learning--I am very keen doing so smile

Could anybody please suggest some good online courses / videos you have come across? First of all, as I am a beginner, I would really like to make sure my hands are shaped properly and I am not getting any odd habit. I would like to know what sort of exercises I need at the beginning.

Thanks.

Zbigniew

[Linked Image]
D
dmd Offline
5000 Post Club Member
5000 Post Club Member
D
To "make sure", as you put it ... You had best get a teacher.

If that is not possible ....

http://www.Fundamentalkeys.com

or

http://playingpianoblog.com/learn-to-play-the-piano/

would be my suggestions.

Last edited by dmd; 10/28/13 08:19 PM.

Don

Kawai MP7SE, On Stage KS7350 keyboard stand, KRK Classic 5 powered monitors, SennHeiser HD 559 Headphones
500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member
Josh Wright (check YouTube) is my personal favorite for topical videos, including one on hand position. He's succinct and there is something to be learned from him regardless of one's level.

I'm sure others with more expertise will reply re: starting from scratch and various books.

Good luck on your journey! This group is a great resource, for both knowledge and encouragement.