2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
49 members (Cheeeeee, Adam Reynolds, Cominut, Burkhard, 1200s, clothearednincompo, akse0435, busa, 36251, 6 invisible), 1,286 guests, and 285 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
H
500 Post Club Member
OP Offline
500 Post Club Member
H
Hi everyone,
Yet another NY vs Hamburg Steinway review and I will attempt to make it as objective as possible!

I am by no means an expert but but here is my experience that allows me to write a review:

- Played about 10 Hamburg D's ranging from 2003 to 2013 range.
- Played about 10 NY D's ranging from 1992 - 2013 range.

First lets start with the superficial.

I won't go into the fact that the Hamburg is a shiny black vs the NY's common matte black finish (which I think is also available now in the shiny).

The fit and finish of the Hamburg is better. Things just seem to fit better. When taking out the front lip of the piano, the fit is very tight and firm and there are no visible gaps.
I think the quality of the NY fit and finish is absolutely superb! But the Hamburg just brings it to a whole new lever. That of a seriously O.C.D. builder.

There are a few things on the Hamburg that don't exist on the NY model that are really neat.

-The lid has a locking mechanism on the side of the piano
-On the NY there are long flathead screws under the "cheeks is it?" On the hamburg there is a lever that you twist, and once undone, the lever stays in the piano so you don't have 2 large screws laying around when you take out the action.