2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
43 members (Andre Fadel, Animisha, alexcomoda, benkeys, 20/20 Vision, AlkansBookcase, brennbaer, 10 invisible), 1,188 guests, and 317 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
OP Offline
Hi, I'm new on the forum which I discovered by chance. I'm a beginner piano player and about to buy my 1st upright piano. The dealer recommended me a Yamaha P116 and an Kemble Concerto (which is not so well known in my country, but has a beautiful casework in wood).

The dealer tells me the Kemble has been assembled in England with Yamaha components, but all I can see inside is "made in London". When I asked him about the serial number CONCERTO 34XXXX (last numbers hidden) he said there's no way to check on the year it was built. The sound is pretty nice and I can notice little difference when compared to the P116, but wonder whether I should go for the Yamaha P116 which is coming into the shop as new. I know about the Kemble factory closing down in 2009, but the dealer assures me the Concerto is a real Yamaha and is willing to include 'Yamaha piano' in the bill. My other question is whether the Kemble Concerto will also require extra care compared to the Yamaha (traditional finish in Black Polyester), as its casework is in natural wood. Both go for the same price. I will appreciate your help as I have to make my mind up! Thanks and merry Xmas to all. Yelena.

Last edited by Yelena S; 12/23/13 09:13 AM.
W
W
Hi Yelena, Merry Christmas to you! Welcome to the forum also.