Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 2 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
the Forums & Piano World

This custom search works much better than the built in one and allows searching older posts.
(ad 125) Sweetwater - Digital Keyboards & Other Gear
Digital Pianos at Sweetwater
(ad) Pearl River
Pearl River Pianos
(ad) Pianoteq
Latest Pianoteq add-on instrument: U4 upright piano
(ad) P B Guide
Acoustic & Digital Piano Guide
PianoSupplies.com (150)
Piano Accessories Music Related Gifts Piano Tuning Equipment Piano Moving Equipment
We now offer Gift Certificates in our online store!
(ad) Estonia Piano
Estonia Piano
Quick Links to Useful Stuff
Our Classified Ads
Find Piano Professionals-

*Piano Dealers - Piano Stores
*Piano Tuners
*Piano Teachers
*Piano Movers
*Piano Restorations
*Piano Manufacturers
*Organs

Quick Links:
*Advertise On Piano World
*Free Piano Newsletter
*Online Piano Recitals
*Piano Recitals Index
*Piano Accessories
* Buying a Piano
*Buying A Acoustic Piano
*Buying a Digital Piano
*Pianos for Sale
*Sell Your Piano
*How Old is My Piano?
*Piano Books
*Piano Art, Pictures, & Posters
*Directory/Site Map
*Contest
*Links
*Virtual Piano
*Music Word Search
*Piano Screen Saver
*Piano Videos
*Virtual Piano Chords
Topic Options
#2115682 - 07/10/13 01:25 PM Roland FP50 - how to disable built in speakers ?
stourot Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 06/10/13
Posts: 15
Loc: France
hello,

yesterday y bought a roland fp50 and i have something strange. When i connect my external speakers, the built in speakers are not desactivated.....the sound of the piano is in the internal and external speakers....

somebody knows how to disable them ?

thanks
_________________________
Roland FP50

Top
(ads) Sweetwater / Roland
Kawai Superb Stage Piano and Controller

Click Here


#2115687 - 07/10/13 02:08 PM Re: Roland FP50 - how to disable built in speakers ? [Re: stourot]
enzo.sandrolini Offline
Full Member

Registered: 11/11/09
Posts: 273
Loc: Europe - France
Hello
how do you connect your external speakers ? using RCA or Jack 6.5 cables ?
I had same trouble with a casio PX350
just plugging a headphone should do the trick (or Jack adaptator on the headphone connector)
_________________________
Music is a lifestyle

Top
#2115688 - 07/10/13 02:15 PM Re: Roland FP50 - how to disable built in speakers ? [Re: stourot]
stourot Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 06/10/13
Posts: 15
Loc: France
i connect with jack 6.35

its very strange......

i will test with the jack in headphone
_________________________
Roland FP50

Top
#2115714 - 07/10/13 03:14 PM Re: Roland FP50 - how to disable built in speakers ? [Re: enzo.sandrolini]
dmd Offline
1000 Post Club Member

Registered: 04/15/09
Posts: 1841
Loc: Pennsylvania
Originally Posted By: enzo.sandrolini
Hello
how do you connect your external speakers ? using RCA or Jack 6.5 cables ?
I had same trouble with a casio PX350
just plugging a headphone should do the trick (or Jack adaptator on the headphone connector)


Or just turning the volume down to zero on the piano. Many times (Usually) the volume of the lineouts is not affected by volume control of the piano.
_________________________
Don

Current: ES7, Focusrite Scarlett 2i4 audio device, SennHeiser HD555 Phones, Focal CMS 40 Powered Monitors, Ravenscroft275, Ivory II American Concert D

Top
#2115771 - 07/10/13 04:52 PM Re: Roland FP50 - how to disable built in speakers ? [Re: stourot]
stourot Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 06/10/13
Posts: 15
Loc: France
i have tested with a jack into the headphone conneƧtor its ok.

i have sent a mail to roland europe support to have more informations.

thanks.
_________________________
Roland FP50

Top
#2115795 - 07/10/13 06:07 PM Re: Roland FP50 - how to disable built in speakers ? [Re: stourot]
36251 Offline
500 Post Club Member

Registered: 11/12/10
Posts: 740
There was a day, not to long ago that Roland actually spent the extra dollar to include an on/off switch, like on FP-4. I guess the top management isn't making enough money these days. Really, how much extra can it cost? DF's!
_________________________
AG N2, CP4, GK MK & MP

Top
#2115804 - 07/10/13 06:24 PM Re: Roland FP50 - how to disable built in speakers ? [Re: stourot]
voxpops Offline
3000 Post Club Member

Registered: 03/20/07
Posts: 3042
Loc: Oregon
Agreed, 36251. It's the little things that make life so much easier, particularly when gigging.
_________________________
Occasional author and inveterate ivory tickler:
http://www.amazon.com/author/richardspanswick

Top
#2208693 - 01/05/14 02:31 PM Re: Roland FP50 - how to disable built in speakers ? [Re: stourot]
Gretel Offline
Full Member

Registered: 01/04/14
Posts: 31
Is there any news? I am having the same problem: I want to deactivate the internal speakers when I plug in external ones. This doesn't work so far. Also, when I put a plug into the headphone output, both the internal and the external speakers are muted, so this doesn't help me either.
The only option that I see is to connect my external speakers to my headphone output. Are there any other alternatives?

One short other question: When I play e.g. the normal concert grand, all notes (both high and low) come from both speakers basically equally strong. I would have expected that low notes come predominantly from the left speaker while high notes come from the right speaker. When I listen carefully via headphones, I have the impression that this is also the case on the FP-50 but only to a very minor extent. When I listen via the internal speakers, there is basically no such impression. Is there any way to broaden the stereo impression somehow?

Best regards and thanks in advance,
Stefan


Edited by Gretel (01/05/14 04:11 PM)

Top
#2208711 - 01/05/14 02:48 PM Re: Roland FP50 - how to disable built in speakers ? [Re: stourot]
Morodiene Online   content
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member

Registered: 04/06/07
Posts: 11795
Loc: Boynton Beach, FL
I'm really surprised this speaker off option was removed. Having to use the headphone jack?? Really?? On an instrument that is supposed to be for gigging?
_________________________
private piano/voice teacher - full time
MTNA member
www.valeoconservatory.com
Petrof 9'2 Concert, Yamaha G3, Roland FP-7, Yamaha MOX6, Kawai MP11

Top
#2208828 - 01/05/14 05:10 PM Re: Roland FP50 - how to disable built in speakers ? [Re: stourot]
Coker Offline
Full Member

Registered: 01/31/11
Posts: 196
Loc: Connecticut,USA
Has anyone found a benefit to the FP-50 over the FP-4? It looks like theuser interface has gotten worse, and I hear the keyboard isn't as good. Has anyone tried the two of them?
_________________________
Yamaha CP4, Kawai CA93

Top
#2208840 - 01/05/14 05:22 PM Re: Roland FP50 - how to disable built in speakers ? [Re: stourot]
blackspaven Offline
Full Member

Registered: 11/27/13
Posts: 98
Depends how handy you are, but if you opened it up, it wouldn't be that difficult to simply put a switch in-line in one of the wires that is connected directly to the speakers. May be lucky and find a single wire that at some point controls the sound to both speakers and put the switch in that, otherwise it'd be one per side.

No, it's far from ideal, but it would work and it wouldn't be particularly hard to do... if you're any good with a pair of pliers, wirecutters and a screwdriver.

Top
#2208953 - 01/05/14 08:35 PM Re: Roland FP50 - how to disable built in speakers ? [Re: Coker]
voxpops Offline
3000 Post Club Member

Registered: 03/20/07
Posts: 3042
Loc: Oregon
Originally Posted By: Coker
It looks like theuser interface has gotten worse, and I hear the keyboard isn't as good. Has anyone tried the two of them?

Yes. Roland giveth and Roland taketh away. That is my experience. The SN APs are more sophisticated than the older non-SN ones, but the earlier versions are less muddy. The FP-50 does have the basic AP samples hidden away in the "other" bank, but they lack even damper resonance. The speakers were less powerful in the FP-4, but also clearer sounding. The FP-4 also had visual reference for the rotary control, the very useful speaker switch, more direct access to sound categories, a faster (but less precise) action, and a more robust yet lighter chassis. My guess is that Roland found the FP-4 taking away too many sales from the RD range, and chose to redress the balance by making the new FPs less desirable in a "pro" context.
_________________________
Occasional author and inveterate ivory tickler:
http://www.amazon.com/author/richardspanswick

Top
#2209687 - 01/06/14 06:55 PM Re: Roland FP50 - how to disable built in speakers ? [Re: blackspaven]
Gretel Offline
Full Member

Registered: 01/04/14
Posts: 31
Originally Posted By: blackspaven
Depends how handy you are, but if you opened it up, it wouldn't be that difficult to simply put a switch in-line in one of the wires that is connected directly to the speakers.


It seems that this would be the only option, however I bought the piano about one week ago and I don't want to void the warranty.

Concerning the problem with the one or two wires for the speaker: There are so-called dual pole switches, which are basically switching two independent circuits via one button, so one of these guys would do the job even if there isn't one single wire that could switch both speakers. I am a bit experienced with soldering. If I would do it, I would probably also try to install a potentiometer to make the LEDs on the front panel dimmable, even though that's probably not so easily possible. However the main problem is the warranty...

Top
#2209693 - 01/06/14 07:04 PM Re: Roland FP50 - how to disable built in speakers ? [Re: stourot]
Coker Offline
Full Member

Registered: 01/31/11
Posts: 196
Loc: Connecticut,USA
After using the FP-4 for gigging many years, I found that the internal speakers were actually quite useful for giving me a way to monitor myself while the main sound was coming out of my piano amp. However, perhaps you could turn the main volume in the keyboard down and turn the external speakers up. I'd hate to open up the keyboard and void the warrantee.
_________________________
Yamaha CP4, Kawai CA93

Top
#2209964 - 01/07/14 03:15 AM Re: Roland FP50 - how to disable built in speakers ? [Re: Coker]
Manolios Offline
Full Member

Registered: 11/19/10
Posts: 128
Loc: Germany
I hear you. I, for example, loved my P120 for the good onboard speakers and particularly the on/off-switch. After the p120, things have gotten worse...no switch and baaad speakers on the P140, better but not great speakers and still no switch on the P155. WTF are they thinking? smile Onboard speakers are a great addition and useful most of the time, one needs to mute them from time to time though. Would it cost really that much to implement this function in all these pianos with internal speakers?

Top
#2209969 - 01/07/14 03:36 AM Re: Roland FP50 - how to disable built in speakers ? [Re: stourot]
Cmin Offline
Full Member

Registered: 02/19/13
Posts: 229
Loc: Swabia
Not only a on/off switch is necessary, but also a simple routing would be helpful. A lot of keyboards have inputs and these go directly to the speakers and to the output of the keyboard at the same time. It would be great to be able to use the internal speakers as a monitor for smaller gigs, but this makes it impossible because it causes a loop with the input signal.
_________________________
Cheers,
Lenny

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
FP-80, HP 3000s, synths, guitars, mics, MBP, interfaces, Voicelive 2, ableton, Pianoteq, nubert A-200 active monitors

Top
#2210053 - 01/07/14 08:37 AM Re: Roland FP50 - how to disable built in speakers ? [Re: stourot]
Coker Offline
Full Member

Registered: 01/31/11
Posts: 196
Loc: Connecticut,USA
Cmin, can you explain the loop problem a little more?

Also, this is a little kludgey, but might there be a way to simply cover the speakers if you don't want to hear them?
_________________________
Yamaha CP4, Kawai CA93

Top
#2210320 - 01/07/14 03:22 PM Re: Roland FP50 - how to disable built in speakers ? [Re: Coker]
Gretel Offline
Full Member

Registered: 01/04/14
Posts: 31
Originally Posted By: Coker
Also, this is a little kludgey, but might there be a way to simply cover the speakers if you don't want to hear them?


Even though I have to say that this is probably not the most advanced and polished solution to the problem, it's probably good enough - and I haven't thought about it myself :-)
Turning the external speaker fully up and the output of the keyboard (and by this also the internal speakers) only as up as necessary results in both internal and external speakers being roughly equally strong. If I now cover the internal ones, I should mostly hear the external speakers. That should be good enough.
Furthermore, now I got used to the sound of the interal speakers some more and have found an EQ setting which makes the speaker a bit more tolerable, so all in all I guess I'm quite happy now. Of course, a simple switch would still have been the solution #1. Thanks for your input!

Top
#2213253 - 01/12/14 07:05 AM Re: Roland FP50 - how to disable built in speakers ? [Re: Gretel]
Gretel Offline
Full Member

Registered: 01/04/14
Posts: 31
Originally Posted By: Gretel
Also, when I put a plug into the headphone output, both the internal and the external speakers are muted, so this doesn't help me either.
The only option that I see is to connect my external speakers to my headphone output.


Hi all,

don't know why this wasn't working until now, but now if I put a plug/adaptor into the headphone output, only the internal speakers are muted but the output for external speakers is still active.
So, in order to mute my internal speakers, I just put an adaptor into the headphone output.

Top
#2213314 - 01/12/14 10:22 AM Re: Roland FP50 - how to disable built in speakers ? [Re: Gretel]
anotherscott Online   content
3000 Post Club Member

Registered: 02/20/10
Posts: 3201
Originally Posted By: Gretel
don't know why this wasn't working until now, but now if I put a plug/adaptor into the headphone output, only the internal speakers are muted but the output for external speakers is still active.
So, in order to mute my internal speakers, I just put an adaptor into the headphone output.

The most common use for the headphone jack is for private playing (to use the board without bothering other people), so it doesn't make sense to not be able to disable the internal speakers. It's been do-able in any board I've seen that had internal speakers... there was either a switch to turn off the speakers, or they automatically turned off when you plugged something into the headphone jack.

Personally, that feature has gotten in my way! I like to have the speakers running while I'm playing at a gig, because I feel the vibrations in my fingers and it makes the piano playing experience feel more authentic. I have occasionally gigged with a board where I had to use the headphone out to get to my amp, and was annoyed that that meant shutting off the internal speakers!

Top
#2213372 - 01/12/14 12:56 PM Re: Roland FP50 - how to disable built in speakers ? [Re: stourot]
lolatu Offline
Full Member

Registered: 11/01/13
Posts: 438
Loc: UK
FP80 has a speakers switch, which implies that it has a useful function, so it makes no sense that FP50 doesn't. -1 respect for Roland on this one. frown
_________________________
Kawai CA95 / Roland FP3 / Pianoteq Stage / Tannoy Reveal Active / Sony MDR-7506 / Steinberg UR22 / K&M 18810

Top
#2213413 - 01/12/14 02:05 PM Re: Roland FP50 - how to disable built in speakers ? [Re: lolatu]
anotherscott Online   content
3000 Post Club Member

Registered: 02/20/10
Posts: 3201
Originally Posted By: lolatu
FP80 has a speakers switch, which implies that it has a useful function, so it makes no sense that FP50 doesn't. -1 respect for Roland on this one. frown

A separate switch is best. Cheaper models often have the switch "built in" to the headphone jack... the speakers switch off when you insert a plug into the jack. That probably suits the majority of players, but you lose some flexibility.

Top
#2213423 - 01/12/14 02:28 PM Re: Roland FP50 - how to disable built in speakers ? [Re: stourot]
lolatu Offline
Full Member

Registered: 11/01/13
Posts: 438
Loc: UK
What they should have is a one switch for the speakers, and another (conveniently placed) switch for the headphones. If you have your DP at home it's very preferable to leave the headphones plugged in the whole time, and flick a switch if you want to use them. It's less effort, less physical wear and risk of damage to components, and keeps the lead in a tidy place.
_________________________
Kawai CA95 / Roland FP3 / Pianoteq Stage / Tannoy Reveal Active / Sony MDR-7506 / Steinberg UR22 / K&M 18810

Top
#2213436 - 01/12/14 02:50 PM Re: Roland FP50 - how to disable built in speakers ? [Re: anotherscott]
Coker Offline
Full Member

Registered: 01/31/11
Posts: 196
Loc: Connecticut,USA
Anotherscott, I had the same issue with my FP-4 - I wanted to be able to use sound isolating earphones while playing with a big band (to mute the brass a little so I could hear myself). If you were to open up the keyboard to where the headphone jack is, you'll see a wire going from the jack that is electrically isolated (turned off) when plugging in the headphone. I simply connected a jumper across that "switch" so the headphone would not disconnect the speakers when plugged in. In my case, there are two headphone jacks, so I altered only one of them to give me a choice of whether speakers will be turned off or not, depending on which jack I plug the headphone into.
_________________________
Yamaha CP4, Kawai CA93

Top
#2213490 - 01/12/14 04:20 PM Re: Roland FP50 - how to disable built in speakers ? [Re: Coker]
anotherscott Online   content
3000 Post Club Member

Registered: 02/20/10
Posts: 3201
Originally Posted By: Coker
Anotherscott, I had the same issue with my FP-4 - I wanted to be able to use sound isolating earphones while playing with a big band (to mute the brass a little so I could hear myself). If you were to open up the keyboard to where the headphone jack is, you'll see a wire going from the jack that is electrically isolated (turned off) when plugging in the headphone. I simply connected a jumper across that "switch" so the headphone would not disconnect the speakers when plugged in. In my case, there are two headphone jacks, so I altered only one of them to give me a choice of whether speakers will be turned off or not, depending on which jack I plug the headphone into.

I'd like to install such a mod into my old Casio PX-500L, so that one of its headphone jacks wouldn't cut off the speakers, but that's beyond my skill level.

As for the FP-4, though, it has a speaker switch on the back. I guess putting something into the headphone jack overrides it? Since it also has line out jacks, I guess the need for anyone to have speakers on while something is plugged into the phones jack is reduced.

Top
#2213533 - 01/12/14 05:30 PM Re: Roland FP50 - how to disable built in speakers ? [Re: anotherscott]
Coker Offline
Full Member

Registered: 01/31/11
Posts: 196
Loc: Connecticut,USA
Yes, to be clear, while I used my headphones we wanted to leave the speakers on for the nearby band members to hear, while the line out was plugged into the band's PA out in front of the band. So, by jumpering the headphone jack, we could use headphones AND hear the FP-4's speakers at the same time.
_________________________
Yamaha CP4, Kawai CA93

Top
#2213790 - 01/13/14 02:55 AM Re: Roland FP50 - how to disable built in speakers ? [Re: Coker]
Cmin Offline
Full Member

Registered: 02/19/13
Posts: 229
Loc: Swabia
Originally Posted By: Coker
Cmin, can you explain the loop problem a little more?

Also, this is a little kludgey, but might there be a way to simply cover the speakers if you don't want to hear them?

Sorry, I only noticed now your question.

Let's say I'm playing a gig with a band on a 'smaller' stage. I would like to hear a bit of the lead vocals in my monitor for example. Since the stage is small, I would like to use the built in speakers on my piano as a small monitor. So I get a cable from the engineer to hook up into my piano with a mix from the desk. At this point everything is fine. I hear the piano and the vocals coming straight out of the piano. But the engineer at the desk starts freaking out because all of a sudden from the piano output he gets the piano together with the vocals.
Anything that is sent to the input of the piano is outputted from the piano. There is no way to cut the signal route.

I hope this was somewhat clear wink
_________________________
Cheers,
Lenny

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
FP-80, HP 3000s, synths, guitars, mics, MBP, interfaces, Voicelive 2, ableton, Pianoteq, nubert A-200 active monitors

Top
#2213858 - 01/13/14 08:18 AM Re: Roland FP50 - how to disable built in speakers ? [Re: Cmin]
Coker Offline
Full Member

Registered: 01/31/11
Posts: 196
Loc: Connecticut,USA
Cmin - thanks. That makes sense. I think I have had a similar loop as follows:

My flute player sets up his mic within range of my front-firing keyboard speakers and asks for a little reverb. The piano sound comes out of the keyboard speakers and feeds into the mic, which in turn feeds my PA, which I am also feeding directly from the keyboard. Now, my keyboard has extra unwanted reverb because of the flute's mic channel, plus possibly some distortion from the multiple out of phase feeds from the keyboard.
_________________________
Yamaha CP4, Kawai CA93

Top

Moderator:  Piano World 
What's Hot!!
HOW TO POST PICTURES on the Piano Forums
-------------------
Sharing is Caring!
About the Buttons
-------------------
Forums Rules & Help
-------------------
ADVERTISE
on Piano World

The world's most popular piano web site.
-------------------
PIANO BOOKS
Interesting books about the piano, pianists, piano history, biographies, memoirs and more!
(ad) HAILUN Pianos
Hailun Pianos - Click for More
Ad (Seiler/Knabe)
Seiler Pianos
Sheet Music
(PW is an affiliate)
Sheet Music Plus Featured Sale
(125ad) Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
(ad) Lindeblad Piano
Lindeblad Piano Restoration
Who's Online
145 registered (ajames, accordeur, Allard, 46 invisible), 1485 Guests and 20 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
76042 Members
42 Forums
157233 Topics
2309364 Posts

Max Online: 15252 @ 03/21/10 11:39 PM
New Topics - Multiple Forums
Player Piano Bellows Question
by UnrightTooner
Today at 09:40 AM
do you memorize a piece when you learn to play it?
by Peter071
Today at 06:13 AM
Which classical (piano) music may I like?
by Stefo
Today at 05:50 AM
When to compose?
by noobpianist90
Today at 04:16 AM
First Recordings on the New Steinway!
by Markarian
Today at 04:11 AM
(ads by Google)

Visit our online store for gifts for music lovers

 
Help keep the forums up and running with a donation, any amount is appreciated!
Or by becoming a Subscribing member! Thank-you.
Donate   Subscribe
 
Our Piano Related Classified Ads
|
Dealers | Tuners | Lessons | Movers | Restorations | Pianos For Sale | Sell Your Piano |

Advertise on Piano World
| Subscribe | Piano World | PianoSupplies.com | Advertise on Piano World | Donate | Link to Us | Classifieds |
| |Contact | Privacy | Legal | About Us | Site Map | Free Newsletter | Press Room |


copyright 1997 - 2014 Piano World ® all rights reserved
No part of this site may be reproduced without prior written permission