2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
42 members (36251, Doug M., Davidnewmind, Dfrankjazz, brdwyguy, busa, benkeys, Burkhard, David Boyce, 6 invisible), 1,092 guests, and 255 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
L
OP Offline
L
I'm going to be playing the piano seriously starting on the 20th of this month. I'll be teaching myself.(I had an instructor less than a decade ago but we'll skip that story.) I'm a beginner as In I'll be starting at the level of "A quarter note = 1 beat and this is how you count your thumb and fingers."

I would like to know how much you personally believe can be achieved by a beginner in 1 to 6 months. What level do you think can be reached as in ABRSM level pieces.

I'm not sure If this matters but if the person is of
below average, average, above average, or of genius ability would that make a difference and if so how much of a difference would that be?

I'll most likely post a recording audio or video of my progress on here. My goals are pretty ambitious, probably thought impossible but we'll see what happens.

Last edited by Limitless Boy; 01/17/14 07:21 PM.
S
1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
S
There was a thread a few months back asking about Alfred's Book One. The median time to complete that book was nine months. Many reporting were working with a teacher. So that might be considered average. There have been other threads about one or two year beginners that don't seem to have learned much at all. Perhaps those folks might be considered below average.