2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
67 members (Barly, 1957, Animisha, bobrunyan, 1200s, 36251, benkeys, 20/20 Vision, 13 invisible), 1,906 guests, and 350 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
OP Offline
Hello everyone , so I've been playing (self-taught) for about 6 months and personally i am really happy with my progress so far ,technically only. My repertoire is kinda weak and i only can play a small handful of snippets of pieces , such as the intro themes of arabesque no.1 and the nocturne op.9 no.2 till the returning of the first theme. I really want to expand my range of repertoire to a vast rate to be able to play pieces by my favorite composers which are:
-chopin
-debussy
-ravel
-albeniz (recently started checking his pieces ,and my my god ! )
-rachmaninoff
-tchaikovsky
My biggest problem is that i have 0 motivation or dedication to learn pieces at my level , and thats why my repertoire is weak, and (sorry if this insults anyone) bach,mozart and beethoven music dont appeal to me at all frown
So anyway my question is , is there any easy or (easy-able) pieces of the mentioned composers above to learn....and should i spend my time learning lots of easy pieces ,or few hard pieces ?

Last edited by Firas Kordi; 01/28/14 05:55 AM.
M
M
There are easier arrangements of most classical pieces.

Plus I go by zone of proximial development, whereby you go for something above your current level but not too high so as not to lose motivation.

I want to be so good at Piano like VK, that Roland gives me a free piano too!
500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member