2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
34 members (benkeys, Burkhard, fullerphoto, Erinmarriott, David Boyce, 20/20 Vision, Animisha, beeboss, Cominut, brennbaer, 3 invisible), 1,329 guests, and 278 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
L
OP Offline
L
Hi, this is my first post to the forum, so bear with me.

I am 40 and a total beginner. I am not one of those people that had piano lessons as a kid, quit and came back to it later in life. I truly am a beginner and I am seeking advice to start on the right foot.

Here are the steps I took so far:
1) Recently bought a good digital piano (weighted keys, very near the top of the line, my wife and my daughter play it as well, so it is not just wasted on me only)
2) Started to attend private lessons (I had three so far).

One concern I have is that, for the moment, I find the lesson to be a bit basic so I found myself practicing pieces ahead of the program. My teacher asked me to prepare piece number two, but I have already prepared pieces three, four, five and six. Pieces five and six are more challenging, but still doable.

This is my first question:
I wonder if by going ahead of the prgram I might develop bad habits. Should I resist the temptation and practice over and over the piece I was assigned, despite the fact that I believe I can play it reasonably well and that it starts to become a bit boring?

During the lesson we use two different texts. One has exercises that my teacher asks me to play either along with her or with a recorded track, the other has pieces of a couple of pages each (these are the pieces I am preparing).