2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
65 members (Alex Hutor, AndyOnThePiano2, amc252, brennbaer, accordeur, antune, anotherscott, 12 invisible), 1,725 guests, and 308 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
O
OP Offline
O
Hi All,

I'm brand new to the piano and would like to get a good warm up routine and exercises to start my practice sessions. The computer software I'm using software called Learn and Master Piano (thoughts on this program?) I'm only a few lessons in and don't feel like it has provided me with a good warm up routine and daily exercises. I've seen a lot of people mention scales and Hanon. Are there any good videos online or books that anybody can point me to? I don't know how to read music yet and don't know the piano terminology. Some of the practice and warmups I've seen don't cater to someone who knows NOTHING about the instrument or music.

Thanks!

C

Silver Supporter until Dec 28 2012

Silver Supporter until Dec 28 2012
C
Use Google to find "piano-ology", and you will have a very good pianocourse. It is absolutely free. It contains an awful lot of material, so you should find everything you need there. You can also find some good piano-ology stuff on youtube.
The Piano Handbook by Carl Humphries is also a very fine place to start.
And stay away from Hanon. The stuff I have mentioned should keep you happy for a long time.

D
500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member
D
I wouldn't recommend starting with scales and Hanon studies, as it's easy to injure yourself and/or develop bad habits if you jump into these blind.