2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
30 members (Charles Cohen, Burkhard, AlkansBookcase, brennbaer, cmoody31, 20/20 Vision, admodios, 9 invisible), 1,231 guests, and 330 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
P
Poli Offline OP
OP Offline
P
I am an advance beginner...borderline intermediate...lol
I was wondering if any of you have had the chance to take a look at this website:

http://www.pianofundamentals.com/

Are the techniques discussed therein valid? Of course, a book cannot replace the advice of a good teacher, but is the material discussed on this site valid?

Thanks,

P
Poli Offline OP
OP Offline
P
...try this if you are having problems with the website:

http://www.pianopractice.org/book.pdf

B

Gold Supporter until July 10  2014
1000 Post Club Member

Gold Supporter until July 10  2014
1000 Post Club Member
B
There's a lot of value in what Chang has to say in his book, but it's clunky and not easy to read (though there are workarounds for this). His methods also aren't new or particularly revolutionary, but they're not often discussed and thus the reason for his book. I've personally benefited a lot more from reading PianoStreet user Bernhard's old posts as they read more easily and the user is also a teacher so he phrases (or phrased, as he no longer posts) things in a very thorough and easy-to-understand manner.

I suggest first reading over this thread here: How does Bernhard or Chang's method differ with traditional

one post within which just about sums up my feelings on the topic is:
Originally Posted by nomis