2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
42 members (bwv543, Andre Fadel, Animisha, alexcomoda, benkeys, Burkhard, 20/20 Vision, 10 invisible), 1,172 guests, and 282 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#2252050 03/25/14 08:18 PM
J
JRT Offline OP
OP Offline
J
Hi there,
I have been playing guitar on and off for 30 years and I have always wanted to learn piano. After much research I took the plunge and bought a Kawai MP6 that I pick up tomorrow!

When I was a kid learning guitar I was very impatient, mix that with some natural ability and I went on the wrong track of learning how to play without really studying the instrument. By pushing too hard and fast I developed sloppy technique and because of this feel like I never reached my real potential. I want to avoid this with the piano and put in the painful hours of re-developing my dexterity, timing and rhythm.

So the questions are should I get a teacher right away and avoid playing the piano without the guidance of doing it right or can a book like the Alfred’s adult beginners be OK to start with? Are there other good books that teach proper technique in a development course? Is it better to spend a great amount of time playing scales instead of learning song in the beginning?

I can’t wait to get started and I know this will be a long road, but I am sure I will enjoy it and I know I can learn some songs right away, but I am afraid of learning improperly. So what is the secret sauce to success in the long haul?

Thanks a bunch!

W
2000 Post Club Member
2000 Post Club Member
W
Originally Posted by JRT