2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
66 members (AndyOnThePiano2, BillS728, 36251, anotherscott, Bellyman, Carey, brennbaer, 12 invisible), 2,113 guests, and 306 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
OP Offline
Hello,

I've been a part time apprentice to a tuner in the North Bay Area of California for several years. My mentor is approaching retirement and has health issues which prevent him from matching my more recent drive to accelerate the learning process. I'm curious about supplementing my training at a tech school, have some financial support to do so, and am willing to travel anywhere where English is the primary language of instruction. I'm also willing to backtrack a bit, to learn other approaches to temperament, regulation, etc.. The schools in Boston (NBSS) and Chicago (CSPT) look promising. Does anyone have any experience in a formal tech school environment that they'd care to share? Thanks!

-nik

Nik Proctor
tuner's apprentice
post-contemporary composer
sea-monkey royalist
semi-confident lion tamer
D
Gold Subscriber
3000 Post Club Member
Gold Subscriber
3000 Post Club Member
D
The Boston school has a particularly good reputation, it seems. Also to be considered is the course at Wester University on London Ontario:
http://www.pianotech.uwo.ca/

I don't know what the Ontario course costs, but i know the Boston one is expensive!

A
500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member
A