Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 2 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
the Forums & Piano World

This custom search works much better than the built in one and allows searching older posts.
(ad 125) Sweetwater - Digital Keyboards & Other Gear
Digital Pianos at Sweetwater
(ad) Pearl River
Pearl River Pianos
(ad) Pianoteq
Latest Pianoteq add-on instrument: U4 upright piano
(ad) P B Guide
Acoustic & Digital Piano Guide
PianoSupplies.com (150)
Piano Accessories Music Related Gifts Piano Tuning Equipment Piano Moving Equipment
We now offer Gift Certificates in our online store!
(ad) Estonia Piano
Estonia Piano
Quick Links to Useful Stuff
Our Classified Ads
Find Piano Professionals-

*Piano Dealers - Piano Stores
*Piano Tuners
*Piano Teachers
*Piano Movers
*Piano Restorations
*Piano Manufacturers
*Organs

Quick Links:
*Advertise On Piano World
*Free Piano Newsletter
*Online Piano Recitals
*Piano Recitals Index
*Piano Accessories
* Buying a Piano
*Buying A Acoustic Piano
*Buying a Digital Piano
*Pianos for Sale
*Sell Your Piano
*How Old is My Piano?
*Piano Books
*Piano Art, Pictures, & Posters
*Directory/Site Map
*Contest
*Links
*Virtual Piano
*Music Word Search
*Piano Screen Saver
*Piano Videos
*Virtual Piano Chords
Page 9 of 11 < 1 2 ... 7 8 9 10 11 >
Topic Options
#2287332 - 06/08/14 12:08 PM Re: Roland RD 800 [Re: 27Jan]
Mr Pip Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 06/07/14
Posts: 2
I am one of the numptys that has plugged the power cable into the XLR port on my RD-800.

Just received it back, fixed by Roland and it has now got this botched repair that is the cable attached.

They are not willing to budge on this at all. In my view it has now changed the device to not being very portable which surely is the whole point of a stage piano. It is going to get damaged every time it is put in a case.

Still in a debate with them. Any ideas?

Let the slagging for my stupidity commence...

Top
(ads) Sweetwater / Roland
Your Next Keyboard is at Sweetwater

Click Here


#2287335 - 06/08/14 12:26 PM Re: Roland RD 800 [Re: Mr Pip]
Marko in Boston Offline
500 Post Club Member

Registered: 11/30/12
Posts: 889
Loc: Boston, Massachusetts
Originally Posted By: Mr Pip

Just received it back, fixed by Roland and it has now got this botched repair that is the cable attached.


Hi Mr Pip, Hey you made a mistake, no need to add salt to your wounds. Any chance you can post a photo(s) of what they did to your RD800. Thanks, Marko


Edited by Marko in Boston (06/08/14 12:27 PM)
_________________________
KAWAI ES7 | ROLAND RD-800 | TRAYNOR K4 | YAMAHA STAGEPAS 400i | PRESONUS ERIS 5 & T10 | SHURE SRH1540 | SENNHEISER HD380 | K&M OMEGA

Top
#2287348 - 06/08/14 01:41 PM Re: Roland RD 800 [Re: Mr Pip]
bgiles Offline
Full Member

Registered: 05/20/14
Posts: 67
Loc: Worcester, UK
Originally Posted By: Mr Pip

Just received it back, fixed by Roland and it has now got this botched repair that is the cable attached.

They are not willing to budge on this at all. In my view it has now changed the device to not being very portable which surely is the whole point of a stage piano. It is going to get damaged every time it is put in a case.

Still in a debate with them. Any ideas?


All we can do is collectively push Roland into changing the modification to something like the XLR covers or bungs.

It's the only fix I will allow them to do to mine, having rejected their offer to permanently attached a cable.
_________________________
Roland RD-800, RD-700, SRX-02, SRX-04, SRX-07, SRX-11, EV-5

Top
#2287352 - 06/08/14 01:52 PM Re: Roland RD 800 [Re: 27Jan]
anotherscott Offline
3000 Post Club Member

Registered: 02/20/10
Posts: 3226
FWIW, as far as I can remember, pretty much all the keyboards up to the early 80s had permanently attached power cords. There was no epidemic of damage, tripping, etc.

Top
#2287354 - 06/08/14 02:07 PM Re: Roland RD 800 [Re: anotherscott]
Marko in Boston Offline
500 Post Club Member

Registered: 11/30/12
Posts: 889
Loc: Boston, Massachusetts
Originally Posted By: anotherscott
There was no epidemic of damage, tripping, etc.


...that we heard of. Now we have the internet and read even if someone breaks a fingernail on key. So it could have been a problem in the 80s. IDK


Edited by Marko in Boston (06/08/14 02:08 PM)
_________________________
KAWAI ES7 | ROLAND RD-800 | TRAYNOR K4 | YAMAHA STAGEPAS 400i | PRESONUS ERIS 5 & T10 | SHURE SRH1540 | SENNHEISER HD380 | K&M OMEGA

Top
#2287374 - 06/08/14 02:53 PM Re: Roland RD 800 [Re: Mr Pip]
36251 Offline
500 Post Club Member

Registered: 11/12/10
Posts: 743
Originally Posted By: Mr Pip
I am one of the numptys that has plugged the power cable into the XLR port on my RD-800.

Just received it back, fixed by Roland and it has now got this botched repair that is the cable attached.

They are not willing to budge on this at all. In my view it has now changed the device to not being very portable which surely is the whole point of a stage piano. It is going to get damaged every time it is put in a case.

Still in a debate with them. Any ideas?

Let the slagging for my stupidity commence...
No one's asked...When you plugged it in, was it like pushing a square peg in a round hole? Do you remember what you were thinking?

I'm sorry it happened but I think it might help to know cause if it was easy to push in, then it can be understand why Roland has gone to such lengths to fix the issue (in their minds only, at the very least.)
_________________________
AG N2, CP4, GK MK & MP

Top
#2287506 - 06/08/14 09:20 PM Re: Roland RD 800 [Re: 36251]
dewster Offline
4000 Post Club Member

Registered: 12/07/09
Posts: 4345
Loc: Northern NJ
Originally Posted By: 36251
No one's asked...When you plugged it in, was it like pushing a square peg in a round hole? Do you remember what you were thinking?

I'm sorry it happened but I think it might help to know cause if it was easy to push in, then it can be understand why Roland has gone to such lengths to fix the issue (in their minds only, at the very least.)

If the AC cable and XLR receptacle I used are any indication, as I reported earlier in this thread, it fits like a glove.
_________________________
The DPBSD Project!
THE RD-700NX Thread!
DPs Exposed! (nekid pichures!)

Top
#2287586 - 06/09/14 02:39 AM Re: Roland RD 800 [Re: 36251]
bgiles Offline
Full Member

Registered: 05/20/14
Posts: 67
Loc: Worcester, UK
Originally Posted By: 36251
I'm sorry it happened but I think it might help to know cause if it was easy to push in, then it can be understand why Roland has gone to such lengths to fix the issue (in their minds only, at the very least.)

I concur with dewster that it is an easy fit, if you look at his post dated 17th April on page 2, you will see that the C8 plug has 8.6mm centres, and the XLR pins are at 8.1mm.

Nobody is denying that there isn't a risk when cabling up the RD-800 if you don't concentrate, but I do question if "Roland has gone to such lengths to fix the issue".

It's the 'permanently attached cable' fix they came up with that is the objection, when they could have gone for a solution like XLR covers/bungs, which would have had no usability impact on owners, and could also be retrofitted to avoid a recall.
_________________________
Roland RD-800, RD-700, SRX-02, SRX-04, SRX-07, SRX-11, EV-5

Top
#2287599 - 06/09/14 06:03 AM Re: Roland RD 800 [Re: 36251]
Mr Pip Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 06/07/14
Posts: 2
When I plugged it in, it went in very easily. There was no resistance or anything that would have made me think that it wasn't the correct port.

I had previous plugged it in a lot of times and it didn't feel any different to those times.

I was leaning over the piano form the front and feeling where to plug it in when it happened.

Top
#2287607 - 06/09/14 06:38 AM Re: Roland RD 800 [Re: 27Jan]
toddy Offline
1000 Post Club Member

Registered: 09/30/11
Posts: 1690
Loc: Portugal
A stage piano - especially a top professional model like the RD800 - should work under all kinds of adverse conditions which you wouldn't come across much in the home or studio: darkness, awkward angles, running late, conflicting needs of other band members, roadies with violent, homicidal tendencies, unforeseen circumstances, altered states, panic.

Even a seasoned pro-musician or roady could make this error given a combination of the those circumstances.

That's where Roland have failed here: they should have spotted the problem in tests or simply by systematically thinking through the new design.

As noted above by bgiles, sprung XLR caps appear to be a neat solution, which would be in line with the professional profile this kind of instrument likes to keep.
_________________________
Roland HP 302, Yamaha SY85

Reaper / NI Komplete 9 /Kontakt 5// EWQL Sym Choirs/ Sym Orchestra Silver/ MOR2
Mics: SP B1 & MXL V67g/ Alesis MicTube Preamp/ Xenyx302/ Yamaha HS7s .

"Only a fool is fooled" pv88, All Fools' Day 2014.

Top
#2287961 - 06/10/14 05:43 AM Re: Roland RD 800 [Re: 27Jan]
Cessquill Offline
Full Member

Registered: 05/09/14
Posts: 42
Loc: Peterborough, UK
Had a demo on one at the weekend. Oddly enough, the display model didn't have the fix fitted, but the stock ones did.

Playing it I was extremely impressed, especially compared to what I was used to.

Practicalities however, there were a few points (notwithstanding the power issues). Because it is narrow and all the sockets are at such an angle, it looks like some of the plugs could get in the way of the stand (especially if it's a table top one).

Also, for the last 18 years I've had stage pianos in a flightcase with a shallow base. I therefore put the whole case on the stand and just remove the lid. This is now no longer possible with the angled sockets of the RD-800 as they just get in the way.

Also, as mentioned, because of the curved back, it does seem harder to carry by one person.

As impressed as I really was with it, the opening paragraph on the Roland product website does seem rather ironic. I didn't get much of a chance, since there was a queue of people wanting to demo it, so I'd be happy to be corrected.

Top
#2288028 - 06/10/14 10:46 AM Re: Roland RD 800 [Re: Cessquill]
bgiles Offline
Full Member

Registered: 05/20/14
Posts: 67
Loc: Worcester, UK
Originally Posted By: Cessquill
Because it is narrow and all the sockets are at such an angle, it looks like some of the plugs could get in the way of the stand (especially if it's a table top one).

Also, for the last 18 years I've had stage pianos in a flightcase with a shallow base. I therefore put the whole case on the stand and just remove the lid. This is now no longer possible with the angled sockets of the RD-800 as they just get in the way.


Yes, the position of the sockets can present a problem, particularly if you have all 'right angled' plugs as I do.
If you have no clearance underneath, such as placing it on a flat surface, there is not enough room to get 2 Neutrik angled plugs in the 2 jack outputs without plugs touching the surface it's mounted on (unless you point them up eek ).
However, almost all keyboards stands are an open design, so not normally an issue.

Unfortunately, plugging it in whilst left in a flight case lid would be almost impossible.

All in all, a backward step with regards to connection access over previous models, so much so I have coloured stickers to help me identify what it where (except of course the power, where I look).

You could ask yourself that if Roland had stuck with the sloped up design of previous models, would there be so much of a risk of the user plugging the power lead into an XLR, I don't think so.

A painful lesson for Roland.
_________________________
Roland RD-800, RD-700, SRX-02, SRX-04, SRX-07, SRX-11, EV-5

Top
#2288033 - 06/10/14 11:00 AM Re: Roland RD 800 [Re: bgiles]
Cessquill Offline
Full Member

Registered: 05/09/14
Posts: 42
Loc: Peterborough, UK
Originally Posted By: bgiles
However, almost all keyboards stands are an open design, so not normally an issue.

The stand I'm using at the moment on stage is a Quik-Lok X-frame, so I'd have to position it on there suck that a socket didn't coincide with a support.

The stand I have at home is a K&M 19850 table style, which has a beam all the way across the back. Because the RD-800 is shallow, I'm guessing that either the stand would stick out the front, or the beam across the back would get in the way of downward plugs.

Either way, yes, not good for right-angled XLRs. Others, like the supplied right-angle footswitch jack could go at a bit of an angle.

Top
#2288046 - 06/10/14 11:26 AM Re: Roland RD 800 [Re: Cessquill]
bgiles Offline
Full Member

Registered: 05/20/14
Posts: 67
Loc: Worcester, UK
Originally Posted By: Cessquill
The stand I'm using at the moment on stage is a Quik-Lok X-frame, so I'd have to position it on there suck that a socket didn't coincide with a support.

The stand I have at home is a K&M 19850 table style, which has a beam all the way across the back.


For reference, the footprint of the RD-800 is 320mm deep x 1370mm wide (12.5" x 54").

Mine sits on a Bespeco stand which is 390mm deep, so I have a gap at the back where the leads drop through.

I word of warning though, the front rubber feet on the underside are not at the same centres as the rear, as they are positioned to suit the Roland KS-G8B stand.
Front to back centres: 215mm (8.5") approx.
Front feet centres: 775mm (30.5") approx.
Rear feet centres: 910mm (35.75") approx.
_________________________
Roland RD-800, RD-700, SRX-02, SRX-04, SRX-07, SRX-11, EV-5

Top
#2288047 - 06/10/14 11:28 AM Re: Roland RD 800 [Re: bgiles]
Cessquill Offline
Full Member

Registered: 05/09/14
Posts: 42
Loc: Peterborough, UK
Thanks thumb

Top
#2288051 - 06/10/14 11:42 AM Re: Roland RD 800 [Re: 27Jan]
36251 Offline
500 Post Club Member

Registered: 11/12/10
Posts: 743
When will Roland take some new pics of their flagship DP with that nifty cord hanging on? for their website.


Edited by 36251 (06/10/14 11:42 AM)
_________________________
AG N2, CP4, GK MK & MP

Top
#2288056 - 06/10/14 11:55 AM Re: Roland RD 800 [Re: 36251]
bgiles Offline
Full Member

Registered: 05/20/14
Posts: 67
Loc: Worcester, UK
Originally Posted By: 36251
When will Roland take some new pics of their flagship DP with that nifty cord hanging on? for their website.

Their sales strategy is likely to be that they don't want the buyer to see it until they take it out the box at home, otherwise it's likely to affect the decision to buy.

They would've had nothing to be ashamed about if they'd fitted XLR covers, but what they have instead is a major turn off for buyers.

I'm not knocking the RD-800, it's a great keyboard, but I'm glad I got mine before the modification came out, because if I were buying now, I'd be having second thoughts.
_________________________
Roland RD-800, RD-700, SRX-02, SRX-04, SRX-07, SRX-11, EV-5

Top
#2288204 - 06/10/14 05:41 PM Re: Roland RD 800 [Re: bgiles]
ando Offline
3000 Post Club Member

Registered: 11/23/10
Posts: 3588
Loc: Melbourne, Australia
Originally Posted By: bgiles


I'm not knocking the RD-800, it's a great keyboard, but I'm glad I got mine before the modification came out, because if I were buying now, I'd be having second thoughts.


From what has been posted here, it wouldn't matter because you can reverse the mod with a screw driver.

Top
#2288252 - 06/10/14 08:48 PM Re: Roland RD 800 [Re: ando]
36251 Offline
500 Post Club Member

Registered: 11/12/10
Posts: 743
Originally Posted By: ando
Originally Posted By: bgiles


I'm not knocking the RD-800, it's a great keyboard, but I'm glad I got mine before the modification came out, because if I were buying now, I'd be having second thoughts.


From what has been posted here, it wouldn't matter because you can reverse the mod with a screw driver.
Your quote makes me think how cheap of solution Roland came up with. Attach the cord and if you remove it, I assume you release Roland from any damage or personal harm. Cheap and effective.

A spring loaded cover over the XLR's would of cost them more money.

Roland could of and should of went for a more classy fix for their flagship DP. I mean that sticker couldn't be more cheesy.
_________________________
AG N2, CP4, GK MK & MP

Top
#2288253 - 06/10/14 08:52 PM Re: Roland RD 800 [Re: 36251]
petes1 Offline
Full Member

Registered: 12/06/05
Posts: 126
Originally Posted By: 36251
...Your quote makes me think how cheap of solution Roland came up with. Attach the cord and if you remove it, I assume you release Roland from any damage or personal harm. Cheap and effective.

Per a post from a Canadian Roland representative, removing it will not void the warranty in Canada (and I presume the USA as well), except for damage incurred from plugging the power cord into the XLR slot.

Quote:
A spring loaded cover over the XLR's would of cost them more money.

Roland could of and should of went for a more classy fix for their flagship DP. I mean that sticker couldn't be more cheesy.

And I'm betting that we'll see all of this in the Roland RD 800NX. smile

Top
#2288312 - 06/10/14 11:39 PM Re: Roland RD 800 [Re: petes1]
dewster Offline
4000 Post Club Member

Registered: 12/07/09
Posts: 4345
Loc: Northern NJ
Originally Posted By: petes1
Per a post from a Canadian Roland representative, removing it will not void the warranty in Canada (and I presume the USA as well), except for damage incurred from plugging the power cord into the XLR slot.

One huge honkering sticker most people will remove (for aesthetic reasons) and one $0.10 cable tie most people will remove (for convenience reasons) and they're totally off the hook for you toasting your spankin' new RD800 and possibly electrocuting yourself in the process. Sweet!
_________________________
The DPBSD Project!
THE RD-700NX Thread!
DPs Exposed! (nekid pichures!)

Top
#2288349 - 06/11/14 03:26 AM Re: Roland RD 800 [Re: ando]
bgiles Offline
Full Member

Registered: 05/20/14
Posts: 67
Loc: Worcester, UK
Originally Posted By: ando

From what has been posted here, it wouldn't matter because you can reverse the mod with a screw driver.

So new buyers have to take a screwdriver to their new RD-800, or cut the cable tie.

Are we sure the lead is attached to the ladder tie with a cable tie that can be easily cut?. It looks like it's been encased in shrink wrap.

Not ideal, and still a turn off for some potential buyers.
_________________________
Roland RD-800, RD-700, SRX-02, SRX-04, SRX-07, SRX-11, EV-5

Top
#2291824 - 06/18/14 09:35 PM Re: Roland RD 800 [Re: 27Jan]
FilmMxMan Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 01/22/14
Posts: 7
I believe the RD-800 will start shipping around the end of June/beginning July if you already ordered it a month or more ago. They have a work around or maybe just some legal stuff that had to clear. I don't know what it is. I called Roland and told me end of June-ish.

Top
#2291827 - 06/18/14 09:53 PM Re: Roland RD 800 [Re: 27Jan]
FilmMxMan Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 01/22/14
Posts: 7
I'm using the Roland A-90 and it has a non-detachable power cord. Never thought much about it. The board still works.

Top
#2291828 - 06/18/14 09:55 PM Re: Roland RD 800 [Re: 27Jan]
FilmMxMan Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 01/22/14
Posts: 7
Does the power cord make the RD800 sound any different?

Top
#2291849 - 06/18/14 10:32 PM Re: Roland RD 800 [Re: FilmMxMan]
petes1 Offline
Full Member

Registered: 12/06/05
Posts: 126
Originally Posted By: FilmMxMan
Does the power cord make the RD800 sound any different?


As I understand it, the board is rather quiet without a power cord.

Top
#2291919 - 06/19/14 03:15 AM Re: Roland RD 800 [Re: petes1]
phunqe Offline
Full Member

Registered: 02/21/14
Posts: 48
Originally Posted By: petes1
Originally Posted By: FilmMxMan
Does the power cord make the RD800 sound any different?


As I understand it, the board is rather quiet without a power cord.



grin

Top
#2291924 - 06/19/14 04:15 AM Re: Roland RD 800 [Re: FilmMxMan]
Cessquill Offline
Full Member

Registered: 05/09/14
Posts: 42
Loc: Peterborough, UK
Originally Posted By: FilmMxMan
I'm using the Roland A-90 and it has a non-detachable power cord. Never thought much about it. The board still works.

I've had three A-90s and all had detachable figure of 8 mains leads. It's not about whether it works, but whether it's practical to set up in a live situation and safe to transport without damage.

The RD-800 has been available for a couple of weeks in the UK.

Top
#2295272 - 06/26/14 10:54 AM Re: Roland RD 800 [Re: 27Jan]
FilmMxMan Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 01/22/14
Posts: 7
Sweetwater said Roland will be shipping in about 2 weeks. There is an adapter that will prevent someone putting in the wrong cable. So I guess there is no power cord directly connected to it.

Top
#2295277 - 06/26/14 11:04 AM Re: Roland RD 800 [Re: FilmMxMan]
Cessquill Offline
Full Member

Registered: 05/09/14
Posts: 42
Loc: Peterborough, UK
Originally Posted By: FilmMxMan
Sweetwater said Roland will be shipping in about 2 weeks. There is an adapter that will prevent someone putting in the wrong cable. So I guess there is no power cord directly connected to it.

Maybe there's a better "fix" from the factory out now then, and the lead screwed to a holder could have been for existing stock only.

Top
Page 9 of 11 < 1 2 ... 7 8 9 10 11 >

Moderator:  Piano World 
What's Hot!!
HOW TO POST PICTURES on the Piano Forums
-------------------
Sharing is Caring!
About the Buttons
-------------------
Forums Rules & Help
-------------------
ADVERTISE
on Piano World

The world's most popular piano web site.
-------------------
PIANO BOOKS
Interesting books about the piano, pianists, piano history, biographies, memoirs and more!
(ad) HAILUN Pianos
Hailun Pianos - Click for More
ad (Casio)
Celviano by Casio Rebate
Ad (Seiler/Knabe)
Knabe Pianos
Sheet Music
(PW is an affiliate)
Sheet Music Plus Featured Sale
(125ad) Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
(ad) Lindeblad Piano
Lindeblad Piano Restoration
New Topics - Multiple Forums
Interview with Leon Fleisher
by vlhorowitz
33 minutes 22 seconds ago
Interview with Leon Fleisher
by vlhorowitz
34 minutes 8 seconds ago
Interview with Leon Fleisher
by vlhorowitz
34 minutes 44 seconds ago
First sonata
by amt976
Today at 03:38 AM
Is it necessary a classic base to play virtuosic jazz ?
by Nahum
Today at 03:18 AM
Who's Online
64 registered (alexbergauer, Barly, AliAlkhiro, amt976, Anne H, 13 invisible), 1027 Guests and 14 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
76384 Members
42 Forums
157911 Topics
2319097 Posts

Max Online: 15252 @ 03/21/10 11:39 PM
(ads by Google)

Visit our online store for gifts for music lovers

 
Help keep the forums up and running with a donation, any amount is appreciated!
Or by becoming a Subscribing member! Thank-you.
Donate   Subscribe
 
Our Piano Related Classified Ads
|
Dealers | Tuners | Lessons | Movers | Restorations | Pianos For Sale | Sell Your Piano |

Advertise on Piano World
| Subscribe | Piano World | PianoSupplies.com | Advertise on Piano World | Donate | Link to Us | Classifieds |
| |Contact | Privacy | Legal | About Us | Site Map | Free Newsletter | Press Room |


copyright 1997 - 2014 Piano World ® all rights reserved
No part of this site may be reproduced without prior written permission