2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
74 members (amc252, akse0435, 20/20 Vision, benkeys, apianostudent, Bellyman, AlkansBookcase, accordeur, 14 invisible), 2,018 guests, and 314 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
S
1000 Post Club Member
OP Offline
1000 Post Club Member
S
The recent Masters golf champion Bubba Watson never had a golf lesson. His technique is unorthodox, his follow through off balance, but the ball goes straight enough that he can compete at the highest level. I'd guess 95% of pro golfers had many years of instruction and private coaching. Bubba is the exceptional self-taught golfing genius. Barring injury, he may be on his way to the golf Hall of Fame.

Are there pianists like Bubba Watson? Entirely self-taught that would be considered the equivalent of Hall of Fame level? I'd guess that there are singers like that, guitarists too. But piano?

I would guess there aren't any that are under 50 years old playing classically pieces at that elite level. Perhaps back in the day, when piano was a relatively new instrument, but it is so codified now, that even exceptional talent and vision can only get a person so far.

Another way to phrase it, are there top selling pianists that are self taught? There are those that play piano a bit and sing (eg: Paul McCartney), but it is their singing that sells. I'm asking about piano.

D
5000 Post Club Member
5000 Post Club Member
D