2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
55 members (beeboss, Chris B, Cheeeeee, Carey, CharlesXX, Aleks_MG, accordeur, brdwyguy, 10 invisible), 1,978 guests, and 314 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#2299247 07/06/14 08:26 PM
G
OP Offline
G
Hey, I am just starting to learn how to read sheet music, theres a few things I don't understand... There is three flats (''bbb'' not exactly like that, but you've probably seen it, so you know what I mean...)I searched for it, and I think it means i'm supposed to play in the key of Eb ? But what does that mean?? Also what does three lines on a note mean?
Thank you...

Could you also recommend me pieces that aren't too hard for a beginner, but something that is beautiful at the same time? Or am i asking for too much? Old Macdonald had a farm isn't exactly something I would like to play :P...

Last edited by Gabriellaa; 07/06/14 08:32 PM.
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Can you possible scan it? If you can, include a chunk of the music so we have musical context, and including the key signature.

Theoretically, each flat should lower a note by one semitone, so three flats should be lowering it three semitones.

If you are starting to learn to read sheet music, then you have just picked very complicated music to start with. By any chance, is this popular music? Often people who don't quite understand music theory will patch together what they hear by ear any which way.

keystring #2299251 07/06/14 08:35 PM
G
OP Offline
G
The music didn't sound very complicated, plus it is quite slow too, but I guess it might be too hard then...