Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 2 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Gifts and supplies for the musician

SEARCH
the Forums & Piano World

Trying Something New with Search
(ad) Pianoteq
(ad) Pearl River
Pearl River Pianos
(ad) P B Guide
Acoustic & Digital Piano Guide
(ad) Lindeblad Piano
Lindeblad Piano Restoration
Who's Online
70 registered (Aly Baracat, augustm, aesop, achi, AndrewJCW, 18 invisible), 1012 Guests and 11 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad) Estonia Piano
Estonia Pianos
Quick Links to Useful Piano & Music Resources
Our Classified Ads
Find Piano Professionals-

*Piano Dealers - Piano Stores
*Piano Tuners
*Piano Teachers
*Piano Movers
*Piano Restorations
*Piano Manufacturers
*Organs

Quick Links:
*Advertise On Piano World
*Free Piano Newsletter
*Online Piano Recitals
*Piano Recitals Index
*Piano & Music Accessories
*Live Piano Venues
*Music School Listings
* Buying a Piano
*Buying A Acoustic Piano
*Buying a Digital Piano
*Pianos for Sale
*Sell Your Piano
*How Old is My Piano?
*Piano Books
*Piano Art, Pictures, & Posters
*Directory/Site Map
*Contest
*Links
*Virtual Piano
*Music Word Search
*Piano Screen Saver
*Piano Videos
*Virtual Piano Chords
Sheet Music
(PW is an affiliate)
Sheet Music Plus Featured Sale
Topic Options
#2302884 - 07/16/14 04:40 AM Sustain problem (Vintage D)
B4question Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 06/27/14
Posts: 10
So I experienced a problem with the Sustain Pedal on Kontakt 5 using the vst Instrument Galaxy Vintage D.

Whenever I press my Sustain Pedal it will also press the E-note on my Piano it drives me crazy.

Ive tried to play around with the settings no luck tho.

Anyone have experienced this as well?

EDIT:

I use an Yamaha NP31 with a FC4 pedal.


Edited by B4question (07/16/14 04:52 AM)

Top
(ads) Sweetwater / Roland
Yamaha Keyboards for Performance and Composition

Click Here


#2302895 - 07/16/14 05:57 AM Re: Sustain problem (Vintage D) [Re: B4question]
Jeff Hurchalla Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 06/11/14
Posts: 13
Loc: Portland OR
I'd probably first check if somehow your hardware (keyboard, pedal, MIDI interface) might be sending the false E. If you're on windows, midiox (midiox.com) is great for seeing incoming MIDI. Just close everything else and run midiox with your keyboard as MIDI input, and try pressing the sustain pedal to see if you get an unexpected E. If not, it's maybe something strange set up in kontakt - maybe a script is running?. You could try a different VST host for Vintage D (I like using bidule) and see if the pedal's ok there.

Top
#2302900 - 07/16/14 06:17 AM Re: Sustain problem (Vintage D) [Re: B4question]
toddy Offline
2000 Post Club Member

Registered: 09/30/11
Posts: 2299
Loc: Portugal
Hi Jeff. Your advice on locating the source of the pedal on problem is interesting.

Could you say exactly what you mean by 'running a script' in this context? I understand that a script is a program - or set of instructions - executed by another program. But, in this case, would that not be Vintage D and Kontakt, respectively. Therefore I don't quite see what other instructions could be intruding. Thanks!
_________________________
Roland HP 302 / Samson Graphite 49

Reaper / NI Komplete 9 Ult. / Audiophile 2496
Mics: SP B1 & MXL V67g/ Monitors: Yamaha HS7s .

Prudence is a rich ugly old maid courted by Incapacity. He who desires, but acts not, breeds pestilence.
William Blake, The Marriage of Heaven & heck

Top
#2302920 - 07/16/14 07:32 AM Re: Sustain problem (Vintage D) [Re: B4question]
Maxpiano Offline
Full Member

Registered: 12/13/12
Posts: 81
Loc: Italy
Hi, what are you using to connect the NP31 to the PC?

That type of problem happens sometimes when using cheap MIDI-USB interface cables that can generate faulty data, maybe you are using one of those?
(The same phenomenon on you describe happened to me once in a rehearsal room that had a NP series keyboard and I discovered that my "no brand China-made" MIDI-USB cable was the issue, since connecting the NP to the Midi IN of my Audio card was working fine instead)
_________________________
'Sometimes you have to play a long time to be able to play like yourself' (M. Davis)

Top
#2302922 - 07/16/14 07:47 AM Re: Sustain problem (Vintage D) [Re: Jeff Hurchalla]
B4question Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 06/27/14
Posts: 10
First of all thank you for your detailed answer.

Well Ive tried your advice using another VST Host but the problem is still remained I even tried to use an other VST Instrument like the Pianoteq 5 trial version still the same result.

Any more advices? smirk starting to get frustrated

Oh and here is the result MIDI-OX programm

http://i.imgur.com/KcxOjIz.png


Edited by B4question (07/16/14 07:47 AM)

Top
#2302928 - 07/16/14 07:55 AM Re: Sustain problem (Vintage D) [Re: B4question]
Maxpiano Offline
Full Member

Registered: 12/13/12
Posts: 81
Loc: Italy
Originally Posted By: B4question
First of all thank you for your detailed answer.

Well Ive tried your advice using another VST Host but the problem is still remained I even tried to use an other VST Instrument like the Pianoteq 5 trial version still the same result.

Any more advices? smirk starting to get frustrated

Oh and here is the result MIDI-OX programm

http://i.imgur.com/KcxOjIz.png


Check my reply above, how are you connecting the NP to the PC? The issue is there, I am 90% confident
_________________________
'Sometimes you have to play a long time to be able to play like yourself' (M. Davis)

Top
#2302929 - 07/16/14 07:56 AM Re: Sustain problem (Vintage D) [Re: Maxpiano]
B4question Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 06/27/14
Posts: 10
I buyed my MIDI-USB cable in a electronic store called Conrad it was a pretty expensive one. Might I ask you which MIDI-USB cable you used for your NP?

Top
#2302931 - 07/16/14 07:59 AM Re: Sustain problem (Vintage D) [Re: Maxpiano]
B4question Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 06/27/14
Posts: 10
I connected my NP just by using the MIDI-USB cable the out to in and the in to the output.


Edited by B4question (07/16/14 08:00 AM)

Top
#2302967 - 07/16/14 10:13 AM Re: Sustain problem (Vintage D) [Re: B4question]
Maxpiano Offline
Full Member

Registered: 12/13/12
Posts: 81
Loc: Italy
Originally Posted By: B4question
I buyed my MIDI-USB cable in a electronic store called Conrad it was a pretty expensive one. Might I ask you which MIDI-USB cable you used for your NP?


I bought mine via eBay, anyway I suggest you to try with a different MIDI interface, best if your audio card (if you have an extrernal one) has a standard MIDI DIN interface built in.
_________________________
'Sometimes you have to play a long time to be able to play like yourself' (M. Davis)

Top
#2302989 - 07/16/14 11:30 AM Re: Sustain problem (Vintage D) [Re: Maxpiano]
B4question Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 06/27/14
Posts: 10
Which model do you prefer?

Top
#2302996 - 07/16/14 11:42 AM Re: Sustain problem (Vintage D) [Re: Maxpiano]
Jeff Hurchalla Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 06/11/14
Posts: 13
Loc: Portland OR
The faulty E's show up in the midi-ox display, so the fault probably originates in one the following: the keyboard, pedal, a connecting cable, or the MIDI interface. It's not in the software (Vintage D or Kontakt).
As Maxpiano suggested, there's a good chance it's the connecting cable. There's also a good chance it's the MIDI interface you bought - it looks like the NP-31 doesn't come with a built-in USB MIDI interface for the computer (it just has standard MIDI in/out ports).
If your MIDI interface and MIDI cable are new, I'd return them and try different ones at home. Also if there's a USB cable that plugs into your MIDI interface, try a different USB cable. That's probably the easiest thing, and unlike the MIDI interface and MIDI cable, there's a good chance you might have a different USB cable somewhere at home you can swap in.

Top
#2303058 - 07/16/14 02:05 PM Re: Sustain problem (Vintage D) [Re: B4question]
MacMacMac Offline
4000 Post Club Member

Registered: 09/24/09
Posts: 4277
Loc: North Carolina
A faulty cable can introduce noise onto the signal line, but I've never heard of a faulty cable generating data that consistently mimics a MIDI E-note key press. smile

Top
#2303352 - 07/17/14 11:47 AM Re: Sustain problem (Vintage D) [Re: MacMacMac]
Maxpiano Offline
Full Member

Registered: 12/13/12
Posts: 81
Loc: Italy
Originally Posted By: MacMacMac
A faulty cable can introduce noise onto the signal line, but I've never heard of a faulty cable generating data that consistently mimics a MIDI E-note key press. smile


The fault actually is in the interface chip, not in the "cable" in an electrical sense. It is a logic bug, nothing to do with signal noise.
_________________________
'Sometimes you have to play a long time to be able to play like yourself' (M. Davis)

Top
#2303574 - 07/18/14 01:10 AM Re: Sustain problem (Vintage D) [Re: B4question]
B4question Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 06/27/14
Posts: 10
Thank you everyone who were trying to help me out of this problem. Ill try to use another MIDI-Interface, MIDI-Usb cable and see if the issue is gone.

Top

Moderator:  Piano World 
Shop our Store for Music Lovers!
Back to School Music SALE!
Save 10% in our online store
.
Just enter SAVE10 in the coupon box during checkout. *
And YES, you can save 10% AND still get free shipping on Jansen Artist benches!
PianoSupplies.com is Piano World's Online Store
Please visit our store today.
* Sale does not apply to advertising, how old requests, or any non-tangible items. Can not be combined with any other promotions. Ends August 31, 2015
(ad) Teaching Children Music
Teaching Music to Children
(ad) Yamaha Stage Pianos
Yamaha CP4 & CP40 Stage Pianos
(ads) PD - WNG - MH
Mason & Hamlin Piano Factory Tours
(ad 125) Sweetwater - Digital Keyboards & Other Gear
Digital Pianos at Sweetwater
(125ad) Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
New Topics - Multiple Forums
How to get feedback on original compositions
by Aly Baracat
20 minutes 8 seconds ago
Piano places in Boston
by phantomFive
Today at 01:52 AM
Ivory II as an inboard sound on a portable DP
by AZ_Astro
Yesterday at 11:43 PM
Which edition for Bach's Well-Tempered Clavier?
by colin_pianist18
Yesterday at 09:18 PM
How old were you when you started tuning?
by Justice Post
Yesterday at 06:27 PM
What's Hot!!
Posting Pictures on the Forums
-------------------
Forums Rules & Help
-------------------
ADVERTISE
on Piano World

The world's most popular piano web site.
-------------------
PIANO BOOKS
Forum Stats
80,564 Registered Members
44 Forums
166,518 Topics
2,440,284 Posts

Most users ever online: 15,252 @ 03/21/10 11:39 PM

Visit our online store for gifts for music lovers

 
Help keep the forums up and running with a donation, any amount is appreciated!
Or by becoming a Subscribing member! Thank-you.
Donate   Subscribe
 
Our Piano Related Classified Ads
|
Dealers | Tuners | Lessons | Movers | Restorations | Pianos For Sale | Sell Your Piano |

Advertise on Piano World
| Subscribe | Piano World | PianoSupplies.com | Advertise on Piano World | Donate | Link to Us | Classifieds |
| |Contact | Privacy | Legal | About Us | Site Map | Free Newsletter | Press Room |


copyright 1997 - 2015 Piano World ® all rights reserved
No part of this site may be reproduced without prior written permission