2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
70 members (Colin Miles, bcalvanese, 20/20 Vision, booms, 36251, Bruce Sato, Carey, AlkansBookcase, 10 invisible), 1,924 guests, and 261 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
M
OP Offline
M
Which of these digital pianos are better: Casio Privia PX850, Kawai ES100, Kawai KDP90, or any other one you may suggest? I'm mostly concerned about key action (I want the heaviest key weight in about the $1000 price range). I'm not planning to transport it so weight isn't an issue. I'm a newbie so it's very difficult for me to compare between all the actions (RH, AHAIV-F, etc) without feeling them (we have no stores that carry digital pianos nearby). Thank you!

A
6000 Post Club Member
6000 Post Club Member
A
Heaviest action is not necessarily best, nor most authentic (depending, in part, on what acoustic piano you are comparing to), but if you like a heavy action, in the $1k price range, I'd probably say Yamaha P155 or maybe Korg SP250. Both are being phased out, but you can probably still find them around.

A
1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
A
Hi, I cannot comment on those particular Kawai models, though did try a few, I tried the both the Casio Privia 850 and Casio Celviano AP-450 when I bought mine recently.

If you got the room, seeing you mentioned you are not moving it anyway and the slightly larger cabinet size is not an issue for you I would consider the Celviano 450 over the Privia 850.