2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
66 members (AlkansBookcase, brdwyguy, 20/20 Vision, Charles Cohen, 36251, benkeys, clothearednincompo, bcalvanese, booms, 10 invisible), 1,967 guests, and 255 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
B
OP Offline
B
Hi guys. Well, I'm a piano player that is also a student at Berklee College of Music. I'm 19 years old, and have been playing for about six years now. I'm self taught, but also have classical background, and in the last three or four years, have been attempting to dive into the world of improvisation, jazz, R&B, and blues. And though I've performed, and I've gigged...I still never feel satisfied with my own sound. I feel like there's a next level of playing that I'm just not able to reach. I've learned tunes by ear, grabbed licks here and there, but I've never transcribed a complete, say Oscar Peterson solo.
And even when I attempted to transcribe a solo, for instance, do you also try to play what you're transcribing exactly note for note, in the case of right hand?
I just am stuck in a rut with my playing and am not sure what to do to get through it. I'm a very strong reader, and have a pretty good ear, but I am just not satisfied with my own sound. Been struggling with this for a while now. Any help, tips, suggestions, youtube links, anything would be very helpful. thanks guys.

Last edited by Brad Webb; 04/08/14 02:30 PM.