2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
33 members (Animisha, Cominut, brennbaer, crab89, aphexdisklavier, fullerphoto, admodios, busa, drumour, Foxtrot3, 3 invisible), 1,240 guests, and 263 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#2305268 07/22/14 09:34 AM
A
AndresD Offline OP
OP Offline
A
I'm a beginner piano student, I've been studying on and off for 7 years without making much progress, and I'm just on a level where I can play easy pieces after some practice.

I've been working with my current teacher for a year, he self admittedly hasn't worked with anyone beyond basic level. At this level he seems to struggle with the pieces that I'm currently practicing, but I still think I find value on the tips he gives me, I also find value on him listening after I have practiced, he also gives me really great tips on how to practice particular pieces.

Should I look for a new more advanced teacher? How much more should I ask from my teacher?

Thank you

M
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
M
This is a tough question for a student to answer, but the teacher in general should be the one to realize when it's time to pass a student along to someone more advanced. Some don't always recognize this, or worse, they need the money and so they hold on.