2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
58 members (36251, 20/20 Vision, anotherscott, bcalvanese, 1957, beeboss, 7sheji, Aylin, Barly, 10 invisible), 1,435 guests, and 303 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
P
pete3 Offline OP
OP Offline
P
I know there are a lot of James Booker fans out there. The genius produced some of the most breathtaking and soulful music to come out of New Orleans.

For the past few months, I've been slowly working transcribing some of his music - challenging since I'm new to the work and my ear is far from natural. But given his classical training, his music is surprisingly not impossible to decipher; it's very structured and layered with much classical technique and harmonies.

I'd like to know if there are others out there doing the same; it would be a great idea to collaborate. We'd realize some good music to share with Booker fans and those just learning about him.

I've worked on the following, hoping to finish by the end of the year:
-So Swell When you're Well (Maple Leaf)
-Life (Piano Prince; Hamburg)
-Stormy Monday (Piano Prince)
-Slow Down Medley (Resurrection Bayou Maharajah)

Next on my wishlist - Goodnight Irene and Classified

If there's any interest to work together - proofing, splitting pieces, post here or PM me. I feel in debt to Joshua Paxton for his brilliant transcriptions, I just don't want the work to stop there! -p

Last edited by pete3; 08/10/14 12:15 PM.
R
1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
R