Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 2 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
the Forums & Piano World

This custom search works much better than the built in one and allows searching older posts.
(ad 125) Sweetwater - Digital Keyboards & Other Gear
Digital Pianos at Sweetwater
(ad) Pearl River
Pearl River Pianos
(ad) Pianoteq
Latest Pianoteq add-on instrument: U4 upright piano
(ad) P B Guide
Acoustic & Digital Piano Guide
PianoSupplies.com (150)
Piano Accessories Music Related Gifts Piano Tuning Equipment Piano Moving Equipment
We now offer Gift Certificates in our online store!
(ad) Estonia Piano
Estonia Piano
Quick Links to Useful Stuff
Our Classified Ads
Find Piano Professionals-

*Piano Dealers - Piano Stores
*Piano Tuners
*Piano Teachers
*Piano Movers
*Piano Restorations
*Piano Manufacturers
*Organs

Quick Links:
*Advertise On Piano World
*Free Piano Newsletter
*Online Piano Recitals
*Piano Recitals Index
*Piano Accessories
* Buying a Piano
*Buying A Acoustic Piano
*Buying a Digital Piano
*Pianos for Sale
*Sell Your Piano
*How Old is My Piano?
*Piano Books
*Piano Art, Pictures, & Posters
*Directory/Site Map
*Contest
*Links
*Virtual Piano
*Music Word Search
*Piano Screen Saver
*Piano Videos
*Virtual Piano Chords
Topic Options
#2321154 - 08/28/14 02:18 PM Trying out Pianoteq and Have Sound Card Question
Ra Ed Online   content

Silver Supporter until Jan 01 2013


Registered: 08/31/11
Posts: 14
I'm testing out Pianoteq and am currently using the internal original laptop soundcard. I downloaded ASIO4ALL and am able to get the system to work after I disable all but the "Independent Dual Headphones" and then reboot the PC. The problem is when I use the computer for any other application or Web browsing, the Pianoteq software makes no sound and I have to repeat the process of disabling other sound outputs and rebooting. I realize that the problem is most likely due to the fact that ASIO4ALL will only work with one program exclusively.
If I buy an external audio interface such as the R22 which has it's own ASIO drivers, will that allow me to somehow assign the onboard card to other applications and use the R22 for Pianoteq and eliminate the need to reboot when moving from say web browsing to Pianoteq and back?
Thanks in advance for sharing your knowledge

Top
(ads) Sweetwater / Roland
Your Next Keyboard is at Sweetwater

Click Here


#2321166 - 08/28/14 02:47 PM Re: Trying out Pianoteq and Have Sound Card Question [Re: Ra Ed]
Garf Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 08/27/14
Posts: 7
IIRC that should work if you set the onboard card as the Windows default and then tell PianoTeq to to use the other one.

If you use DirectShow then you won't have this issue, but latency might be worse than with ASIO.


Edited by Garf (08/28/14 02:47 PM)

Top
#2321203 - 08/28/14 04:51 PM Re: Trying out Pianoteq and Have Sound Card Question [Re: Ra Ed]
lolatu Offline
Full Member

Registered: 11/01/13
Posts: 438
Loc: UK
Originally Posted By: Ra Ed
If I buy an external audio interface such as the R22 which has it's own ASIO drivers, will that allow me to somehow assign the onboard card to other applications and use the R22 for Pianoteq and eliminate the need to reboot when moving from say web browsing to Pianoteq and back?

Yes exactly - you have two "audio busses", and applications let you choose which one to use. There are also programs like Soundswitch which let you easily (through a keyboard shortcut) switch the default one that Windows programs such as Media Player will use. And you can use both at once.

Also the UR22 comes with Cubase AI DAW software, which is actually pretty good. I've also tried Reaper briefly, but I had problems with the timing / latency. Cubase is much slicker, and I found it more user friendly.
_________________________
Kawai CA95 / Roland FP3 / Pianoteq Stage / Tannoy Reveal Active / Sony MDR-7506 / Steinberg UR22 / K&M 18810

Top
#2321213 - 08/28/14 05:15 PM Re: Trying out Pianoteq and Have Sound Card Question [Re: Ra Ed]
dmd Offline
1000 Post Club Member

Registered: 04/15/09
Posts: 1841
Loc: Pennsylvania
Originally Posted By: Ra Ed
If I buy an external audio interface such as the R22 which has it's own ASIO drivers, will that allow me to somehow assign the onboard card to other applications and use the R22 for Pianoteq and eliminate the need to reboot when moving from say web browsing to Pianoteq and back?


Absolutely.

That is exactly how it works.

I know nothing about R22 but I know it works for Focusrite Scarlett 2i4 (or 2i2) audio interfaces, which come with their own ASIO driver.
_________________________
Don

Current: ES7, Focusrite Scarlett 2i4 audio device, SennHeiser HD555 Phones, Focal CMS 40 Powered Monitors, Ravenscroft275, Ivory II American Concert D

Top
#2321226 - 08/28/14 05:55 PM Re: Trying out Pianoteq and Have Sound Card Question [Re: Ra Ed]
Charles Cohen Offline
1000 Post Club Member

Registered: 12/26/12
Posts: 1266
Loc: Richmond, BC, Canada
Originally Posted By: Ra Ed
. . . The problem is when I use the computer for any other application or Web browsing, the Pianoteq software makes no sound and I have to repeat the process of disabling other sound outputs and rebooting. I realize that the problem is most likely due to the fact that ASIO4ALL will only work with one program exclusively. . . .


Using Windows 8 on a laptop, I found that if I exit from (that is, stop) Pianoteq, the ASIO4ALL driver kills itself, and leaves the soundcard available to other applications.

When I re-start Pianoteq, it's in the same state it was when I stopped it.

So with one soundcard, I can be running Pianoteq, or listening to a Youtube video -- but not both at the same time.

. Charles

PS -- with a second soundcard, other applications seem to default to the second Soundcard when Pianoteq and ASIO4ALL are using the built-in soundcard.

Top
#2321267 - 08/28/14 08:08 PM Re: Trying out Pianoteq and Have Sound Card Question [Re: Ra Ed]
Ra Ed Online   content

Silver Supporter until Jan 01 2013


Registered: 08/31/11
Posts: 14
I'm still using Window's vista SPC2 and am avoiding upgrading simple because I don't like or understand Windows 8. Whenever I have to help my mother in law with her Window's 8 pc, I have to google ever move on my phone just to get around.
In Vista, even when I let the PC go to sleep, it will loose it's ability to make sound

Top
#2321290 - 08/28/14 09:18 PM Re: Trying out Pianoteq and Have Sound Card Question [Re: Ra Ed]
Charles Cohen Offline
1000 Post Club Member

Registered: 12/26/12
Posts: 1266
Loc: Richmond, BC, Canada
Vista -- as I remember -- was an _awful_ O/S.

Windows 7, though, was stable (it didn't crash often) and seemed to run every program I threw at it. I was _very_ happy with it. I am running Windows 8 with a Windows 7 interface -- ClassicShell -- which shields me from lots of bad (=different) stuff in Windows 8.

I don't know if an upgrade from Vista to W7 is still possible, but it might help your problem.

. Charles

Top
#2323287 - 31 minutes 12 seconds ago Re: Trying out Pianoteq and Have Sound Card Question [Re: Ra Ed]
Ra Ed Online   content

Silver Supporter until Jan 01 2013


Registered: 08/31/11
Posts: 14
Oh well, this has turned out to be a tremendous waste of time. Got the Steinberg UR22, installed and sound constantly "dropped out". Installed, uninstalled, deactivated internal sound device, reboot, reboot, reboot. Adjust buffer size, sample rate, etc, etc., etc. Still dropping sound. Thought it might be my PC so I tried installing on wifes windows 7 computer and got no sound whatsoever! Guess I'll send it back and give up on Pianoteq.

Top

Moderator:  Piano World 
What's Hot!!
HOW TO POST PICTURES on the Piano Forums
-------------------
Sharing is Caring!
About the Buttons
-------------------
Forums Rules & Help
-------------------
ADVERTISE
on Piano World

The world's most popular piano web site.
-------------------
PIANO BOOKS
Interesting books about the piano, pianists, piano history, biographies, memoirs and more!
(ad) HAILUN Pianos
Hailun Pianos - Click for More
Ad (Seiler/Knabe)
Seiler Pianos
Sheet Music
(PW is an affiliate)
Sheet Music Plus Featured Sale
(125ad) Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
(ad) Lindeblad Piano
Lindeblad Piano Restoration
Who's Online
167 registered (accordeur, AliAlkhiro, ajames, 36251, 51 invisible), 1697 Guests and 23 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
76042 Members
42 Forums
157248 Topics
2309586 Posts

Max Online: 15252 @ 03/21/10 11:39 PM
New Topics - Multiple Forums
Plan on playing this Thursday night
by Visalia
09/02/14 06:16 PM
New Kawai DP & RH3 action (CN35 & CN25)
by Northerner
09/02/14 04:50 PM
Kawai MP11 firmware v1.07
by DilEcosse
09/02/14 04:24 PM
all BBCode tags are broken
by beet31425
09/02/14 03:13 PM
Write melody contrapuntally
by kobethuy
09/02/14 03:03 PM
(ads by Google)

Visit our online store for gifts for music lovers

 
Help keep the forums up and running with a donation, any amount is appreciated!
Or by becoming a Subscribing member! Thank-you.
Donate   Subscribe
 
Our Piano Related Classified Ads
|
Dealers | Tuners | Lessons | Movers | Restorations | Pianos For Sale | Sell Your Piano |

Advertise on Piano World
| Subscribe | Piano World | PianoSupplies.com | Advertise on Piano World | Donate | Link to Us | Classifieds |
| |Contact | Privacy | Legal | About Us | Site Map | Free Newsletter | Press Room |


copyright 1997 - 2014 Piano World ® all rights reserved
No part of this site may be reproduced without prior written permission