2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
69 members (Burkhard, apianostudent, Carey, Bellyman, AlkansBookcase, accordeur, akse0435, Barry_Braksick, 11 invisible), 1,858 guests, and 300 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
H
OP Offline
H
Hello,
I'm new to the Piano World Community. This place seems like it may be the right place to inquire about my piano repairs. I've been playing piano off and on for 12 yrs and recently I have been wanting to learn more about how the piano actions work. The book: "Piano Servicing, Tuning, and Rebuilding: for the Professional, the Student, and the Hobbyist" is being shipped to me, so I will have the resource as well.

I just recently bought a small 64 key Spinet Piano(it was very cheap) and thought it would work well for the Limited Space that I have. The brand name is Cameo. Looks like the plate is made by Alcoa, and the hammer rest says Pratt & Reed CO. It looks like the Soundboard and back of the piano are intact--no cracks! The Serial Number on plate is RV-2111-D.

I had to replace the elbows and I found a good resource tutorial to do that repair. I just recently had it tuned and the piano tuner/technician said it wouldn't be worth regulating.
I don't accept that advice because I'm a stubborn person, so I'd rather much like to learn to regulate it myself and save money anyways.

So here are some of the things I can hear that concern me:

*The A bass string resonates long long after the key has been relased

*The Eflat bass string sounds like something isn't allowing it to resonate clearly( muffled with a metallic sound).