2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
60 members (BadSanta, danbot3, Animisha, Burkhard, aphexdisklavier, benkeys, 1200s, 12 invisible), 1,853 guests, and 263 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#2328770 09/18/14 03:23 PM
P
OP Offline
P
I'm not sure if this is the best place to post this, but here goes.

I'm 18, and I've been playing piano for about 3 1/2 years, and taking lessons for a year and a half. Sight reading is an ongoing struggle for me. My playing level is fairly advanced,(my last recital pieces were 'Juba' and "Schumann's Romance in F# Major", and now I'm working on "Rustles of Spring" by Christian Sinding), but my sight reading is not so much. When I first started taking lessons, I basically couldn't sight read at all. (I could figure things out, but it took a lot of time) My teacher is taking me through the Keith Snell repertoire books, and we're in level 4 right now. I can sight read them, but by no means easily or well. My teacher says that these are my sight reading exercises, but we spend a week or 2 on each piece. She has told me that I need to sight read new things every day, but hasn't given me any specific material or anything.

I am looking for books or something that I can go through that has a specific amount to do each day, so there is no guess work involved. Would the Paul Harris books "Improve your sight reading" be a good option for me, and if so, what level should I start in? Or are there others that would be better?
Any help or suggestions would be appreciated!

D
500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member
D
sight reading is a problem for everyone