2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
60 members (Barry_Braksick, BadSanta, danbot3, Animisha, Burkhard, aphexdisklavier, benkeys, 10 invisible), 1,830 guests, and 279 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
E
OP Offline
E
Hello,
I'm relatively new to Piano playing and the first song I learned from youtube tutorials was the Maple Leaf Rag. It took me about 4 Months to get it down halfway decently. I just wanted to ask If I could get some feedback and maybe some hints how to play it better.. here's the link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=StMQXf3hBXc

G

Platinum Supporter until July 22 2014
2000 Post Club Member

Platinum Supporter until July 22 2014
2000 Post Club Member
G
First of all ... very good.

One thing I notice immediately is that you are rushing in places. This does not necessarily mean you are speeding up, but you are pushing the beat. So, at a quick tempo it feels like we are speeding up and looses the relaxing swing feel. A metronome will help fix this. More importantly though, just be aware of it ... it is common ... particularly so in performance when you have so many other things to worry about.

I see you are a first time poster, but can not imagine you are brand new to piano. Regardless, stick around and look into the quarterly recitals ... suggested.

Welcome, good job.

S
S
Originally Posted by Greener

I see you are a first time poster, but can not imagine you are brand new to piano.

I'll second that. Good job!

D
3000 Post Club Member
3000 Post Club Member
D
If you're that much of a beginner (hard to be sure HOW much) then that is an impressive effort.