2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
25 members (drumour, Hakki, crab89, EVC2017, clothearednincompo, APianistHasNoName, JohnCW, Kawai James, 8 invisible), 1,251 guests, and 286 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
B
OP Offline
B
Full disclosure - I'm a piano teacher, and of course think there is no substitute for having lessons from a flesh and blood teacher, but i can also see it might be hard for someone who works full time, has children, etc to make the financial and time commitment to weekly lessons.

Just wondering if anyone has any experience with an online course, and how it worked out for you. If you have youtube video of you playing I'd be curious to see also. If not, just the pros and cons of the course, what the course was, and how long you've stuck with it. Thanks in advance smile

Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Beth, do you mean those courses where people watch a set of videos, or are you including Skype lessons where there is personal interaction between student and teacher?

B
OP Offline
B
I'd be interested in thoughts on Skype lessons as well, but I'm particularly interested in how people go with courses where they aren't getting personal feedback at all. Either using YouTube courses, dvd lessons or other online courses.

E
E
I have had 3 instructors:

1) At a store in a mall - for just $20 you got a lecture every Saturday and a 1/2 hr. tutorial once a week - for 6 weeks. But, it was a thinly veiled attempt to sell you an organ. They taught the basics, but tried to wire you into the features of their organs (eg one-key chording, drum machine, etc.).