2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
60 members (Carey, beeboss, Chris B, Cheeeeee, CharlesXX, Aleks_MG, accordeur, brdwyguy, 11 invisible), 1,910 guests, and 299 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#2377408 01/24/15 02:28 AM
T
OP Offline
T
Hi everyone, I am pretty new to piano world, although I have been browsing the forums for some time :-) I am 25 years old and have been playing the piano since I was 9 1/2, and here's where the problems begin! I had a natural interest in the piano, and began learning to play by ear. I picked up what I could from other pianists, and I listened to alot of classical music, and records of famous pianists such as Ferrante and Teicher. As soon as I could play the hymns of our church well enough by ear to accompany the congregational hymns, my pastor stuck me on the piano bench, replacing our hired pianist of 20 years! I was blessed with the gift of perfect pitch. When I started college, music theory and formal piano lessons were very easy for me at first, then I began to discover that there were problems, needless to say. I began studying proper piano scales, and building a small repertoire of classical pieces. My voice teacher quickly made me the accompanimist for our college chorale, and I still play for them. I regularly play for local churches and high school choirs. Now I'll get to the problems: I practice and warm up with scales every day, and continue to challenge myself with new pieces, but if feels like it does me no good. My left hand is very weak, even though I have worked especially hard on it for nearly two years now. Even though I have worked on