2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
27 members (Burkhard, AlkansBookcase, brennbaer, cmoody31, dh371, 20/20 Vision, admodios, clothearednincompo, 6 invisible), 1,217 guests, and 325 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
D
OP Offline
D
[Linked Image]

vs

[Linked Image]

vs

[Linked Image]

Last edited by DeadPoets; 01/29/15 08:05 PM.
6000 Post Club Member
6000 Post Club Member
I'm no expert but I think you look too slouchy:
1. You are sitting much too close to the piano.
2. You should be sitting on the forward 1/3 of the chair, not all the way back. Push the chair back.
3. You should not be leaning against the back of the chair. Your back should be straight and self supported.
4. You chest should be higher with your shoulders less slumped.

Best regards,

Deborah
D
OP Offline
D
I agree in theory with what you say... but when I try sitting with no back support my lower back gets ripped up and quickly.

I've learned how to use sitz bones, etc but it was no real help. Back support has been the only way I can play.

I'm 5'11 140 lbs so I don't have much meat on these bones. Any sort of extreme sitting position (like straight up) for too long kills me.

J
6000 Post Club Member
6000 Post Club Member
J
For starters you're too close to the piano, so your elbows are too far back, which limits the leverage you can get from your arms.

Your posture is not a train wreck, but you should get a good teacher.

YAMAHA Artist
B
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
B
Originally Posted by DeadPoets