2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
70 members (Carey, Bellyman, AlkansBookcase, accordeur, akse0435, Barry_Braksick, BadSanta, danbot3, 13 invisible), 1,830 guests, and 303 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
B
OP Offline
B
Lately I've been really interested in the art of practicing. As a college pianist I kind of have to learn pieces quickly and pretty much perfectly so I want to be able to do that as efficiently as possible.

Please leave tips, thoughts, and advice for us to all share and learn from!

1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
1. Learn the notes securely first. Then worry about speed (with the caveat that if it is a fast piece make sure your fingerings work faster)
2. If something seems to be harder than it should be, double check the fingering.

There's also been a study done that shows what top practicers do differently. Here's the link to a blog post about the study.

Professional pianist and piano teacher.
MRC Online Content
500 Post Club Member
Online Content
500 Post Club Member
This is a huge subject. Some snippets:

1. Good practising has a plan.

Read though a new piece and get a good global musical idea of it. In your mind, define your goal: how should it sound when you've learnt it?

Now look at the technical side: where are the hardest passages? These are the passages you should learn first!

Is there a passage with a particular technical difficulty, a real challenge? You might want to derive a technical exercise from this passage, something that you can work on several times a day.

2. Good practising uses hands separately or together as necessary.