2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
74 members (amc252, akse0435, 20/20 Vision, benkeys, apianostudent, Bellyman, AlkansBookcase, accordeur, 14 invisible), 2,018 guests, and 314 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
S
OP Offline
S
Hi Folks,

I am a 23-year piano teacher with a question for the other teachers out there. When one of your better students wants to quit (or, rather than discussing concerns with you, decides to "notify" you), how do you handle this?

She is an 8th grader (I know, statistically common time for this to happen). She is one of my better students. She performs at every recital, goes to music festivals and gets top ratings every time. She also goes to an expensive private school, which puts a lot of pressure on their students for academics and sports. In fact, the reason her mother relayed to me for wanting to quit is so that she can do more sports at school. I am so very frustrated that this has now happened a few times with my bright middle-schoolers, and every family feels that they are the "busy" exception, and that surely no one else is pulling this with the teacher. I am in the process of getting a website up for my studio, which, hopefully, will be a way for "help, my child wants to quit" to be a topic to read about before they make a decision without my help or input.

Anyway, I am mostly venting, because I have been losing sleep over this one. But it happened with another student a year ago as well, so I'm here asking advice/suggestions other teachers have for keeping students going in this delicate time in their lesson process.

Thank you!
Scarlett88