2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
73 members (AlkansBookcase, bcalvanese, 36251, brdwyguy, amc252, akse0435, 20/20 Vision, Burkhard, 16 invisible), 2,121 guests, and 307 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
T
OP Offline
T
I was a self-taught piano student for five years before I took up with a teacher this past January. While in the course of my self-study I tried not to incur any bad habits, studied thru Alfred's method books and attained a level of proficiency to read music at a grade 3 level. I have also taken to the Faber Jazz Series by Pam Wedgewood and can play several of her tunes flawlessly, from memory, and with dynamics and in tempo.

I'm very happy (and lucky, so I read at PW) to have found a teacher who took this 63-year old beginner. She has me on Alfred's Basic Adult Book 2 from the onset.

Here's my problem: I cannot play my learned lessons correctly when in the practice room. I fumble with the keys, speed up, slow dow, go back, forget; terrible technique! Specific items she tells me to work on, even if I perfected them in my own practice sessions, I fail to demonstrate aptly. When I am home, I play fluidly, right on time, no errors.

At first it didn't bother me. I had never performed in front of others during my self-taught days and so it was natural to "feel watched". But its been four months now (lessons weekly)and I still fumble, forget, miss keys, etc. And it actually feels as though its getting worse as I get more frustrated about it.