2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
36 members (20/20 Vision, Animisha, beeboss, Cominut, brennbaer, crab89, aphexdisklavier, admodios, busa, drumour, 4 invisible), 1,281 guests, and 259 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Arghhh Offline OP
1000 Post Club Member
OP Offline
1000 Post Club Member
When I was taking lessons as a kid I know my scales, arpeggios and chords were never as good as they should have been, so now as a teacher I've been harping on my students to get the correct fingerings on these according to their scale books. Well, I finally had some free time and decided to practice these myself and discovered the published fingerings really are awkward in some cases, in particular when it comes to using the fourth finger on four-note chords/arpeggios and diminished seventh chords.

For example, LH E major chord is fingered 5421. In solid form this feels fine, but in broken form and the arpeggio the 3rd finger is much easier because it reduces the stretch from the 5th finger.
Diminished 7th chords are also all fingered 5421, but with certain black-white key combinations I find it difficult to get the fourth finger in, and often prefer to play the 4th finger instead of the 5th finger if the bottom two notes are black keys.

What do you recommend for fingering? If I do end up changing the fingering I'll have the awkward task of saying, "sorry, I goofed. You're right." to my students after having argued with them about it in their lessons. (A side comment - I never expected students to challenge me on fingering, even in pieces they started learning with me)