2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
24 members (johnesp, drumour, Hakki, crab89, EVC2017, clothearednincompo, APianistHasNoName, JohnCW, 7 invisible), 1,251 guests, and 293 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#2423010 05/20/15 11:42 PM
P
OP Offline
P
I would like to learn a piece by Debussy. Objectively, I am an intermediate pianist, perhaps in the lower half of the enormously large range for intermediates. I really don't care for "easy" pieces, but I don't have the skills to play advanced pieces. I understand that Debussy's pieces can be challenging for players like me who don't have advanced skills.

Can anyone recommend an intermediate Debussy piece? If it helps, I have been playing for about 6 years, and practice about 2 hours per day, but I didn't begin playing piano until I was 57 years old. So advanced pieces are beyond my skill level.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks,

P
P
Welcome pianostu! smile

Debussy is one of my favorite composers, yet I'm intimidated by even his technically easier pieces, because they require a lot of effort in terms of controlling tone and fine shading of dynamics to pull off. I often get frustrated with my piano when I try to polish his music. :P