2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
50 members (accordeur, 36251, Bostonmoores, 20/20 Vision, Cheeeeee, Adam Reynolds, Burkhard, 1200s, clothearednincompo, akse0435, 6 invisible), 1,307 guests, and 306 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
I
500 Post Club Member
OP Offline
500 Post Club Member
I
I've been writing music for about 6 months. I've been trying to avoid cliches. But someone (Mark Polishook - a wonderful teacher BTW) suggested I try writing some cliches. And it dawned on me that imitating or (hopefully maybe better) mutating them might be a good learning exercise.
All I've come up with - cliche wise - is the old I vi ii V - chord progression. So maybe it would be fun to put on your musical thinking hat or cap of choice and suggest some cliches that you either like, find interesting, or are maybe way too cliched. Thinking as I type here - could a series of ii V's - a harmonic sequence be considered a jazz cliche ?
I'm thinking of sophisticated pop like Sinatra. Also jazz standards. If you have any you want to share, please give a youtube example and the approximate time(s) in the youtube vid.

It just occurred to me, the ii V iii Vi ii V chord changes at the end of many jazz tunes is another big one.

Last edited by indigo_dave; 05/25/15 01:24 PM.
K
500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member
K
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gJgQsYBi2-g at 0:000001

the james bond move: minor chord , minor chord b6, minor 7 chord, minor b6 chord, minor 6th

K
500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member
K
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NA6OCGLCUec at