2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
65 members (AlkansBookcase, brdwyguy, 20/20 Vision, Charles Cohen, 36251, benkeys, clothearednincompo, bcalvanese, booms, 10 invisible), 1,961 guests, and 252 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
F
Finfan Offline OP
OP Offline
F
Hi! I am still a rank beginner, but I am looking to upgrade from my 61 key Yamaha YPT-220. I guess I should add my understanding of the terms to be sure I have them right:

Touch Sensitive - No resistance to the touch but the harder you strike the key the louder the tone.

Semi-weighted - Lightly weighted. Some resistance but not at all similar to an acoustic piano.

Weighted - Feels at least similar to an acoustic piano. Requires more hand strength to play.

I am hoping to purchase this and find an instructor at about the same time. There seem to be several keyboards in my affordable range for each option. I will be going for a full 88 keys. My real question is which option is best for a beginner. I've been muddling through the Alfred's book on my own but I intend to go back to start once I find a teacher. I also will probably be using whatever I get for a long time so longevity is also a consideration. Thanks for any replies!

Kawai ES8
Yamaha P105
Yamaha YPT220

A lack of talent does not stop you from learning piano. It just takes longer and you have to work harder.

[Linked Image]
T
3000 Post Club Member
3000 Post Club Member
T