2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
42 members (bwv543, Andre Fadel, Animisha, alexcomoda, benkeys, Burkhard, 20/20 Vision, 10 invisible), 1,172 guests, and 282 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
SiFi Offline OP
2000 Post Club Member
OP Offline
2000 Post Club Member
I recently started learning the C minor Partita (http://imslp.nl/imglnks/usimg/6/6d/IMSLP00790-BWV0826.pdf) because I think it's a fantastic piece. Usually I don't have too much difficulty learning Bach. I played a lot of his organ music in my youth and although much of it wasn't exactly easy (e.g. the trio sonatas), I didn't struggle with it like I did with, say, Messiaen or Reubke (anyone ever tried his sonata?). More recently, on piano, I've learnt a couple of the English Suites (G minor, A minor) and, just for fun, the D minor concerto. So, getting to the point finally, I thought this Partita would be the same. Just a few fingering notations and I'd be good to go.

Not! I was able to do a preliminary sight-read through most of it, although I had to go very slowly in places. Then I got to the Caprice. Oh boy. I started reading through it at half speed (crotchet = 52). Fingers went into some kind of seizure. I couldn't get through it. Even at quarter speed(!) I had to keep stopping to figure out voice distributions and fingerings. So after a few days of fairly intense practice I've got it close to where I want it. But it's been tough; I can't just breeze through it, I really have to concentrate hard or it all falls apart.

Anyone else tried this piece? Am I alone in finding it to be particularly difficult?