2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
35 members (David B, AlkansBookcase, Bruce Sato, dh371, APianistHasNoName, BillS728, bcalvanese, 10 invisible), 1,199 guests, and 297 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
M
OP Offline
M
Hey guys,

I have been playing the piano on and off for several years now, mainly learning individual songs through (yes I'm going to say it:) synthesia. Now though that's all good, I am now at a point where I would prefer to play the piano properly, with sheet music and correct fingering; even though up until this point, fingering has come pretty natural to me.

To that end, I am currently looking for a (preferably free and else non-subscription based) course without any fuss. Just a bunch of incremental pieces of sheet music that will slowly hone my skills. I am however fine with both computer-/midi-based courses and simple sheet music without any technological stuff.

To give you a vague idea of my current sight reading capabilities: I am fluent in single notes on ranging one octave to the left and right of middle C, having played just a few notes more on either side. Have barely touched on octaves but I can recognize the CEG, CFA and AEF ones on both of these octaves (though I am not completely fluent at playing them). I can also read sharps and flats on individual notes just fine but often find myself struggling when the pace fastens.

I'm hoping some of you have some good recommendations!

Thanks in advance!

F
1000 Post Club Member
Online Content
1000 Post Club Member
F
I have been playing a lot of stuff from makingmusicfun.net.