2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
42 members (bwv543, Andre Fadel, Animisha, alexcomoda, benkeys, Burkhard, 20/20 Vision, 10 invisible), 1,172 guests, and 282 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
OP Offline
Hi! This is my first message here and I'm afraid I'm asking a stupid question, so be kind!

I studied piano a little as a child and I’ve just started again. I’m working with Alfred’s 1B for children and without a teacher. (I live in Italy and they do everything differently here and I’d have to do everything in Italian and I’m already confused enough.)

Anyway, on page 8, it says: “The SHARP SIGN before a note means play the next key to the right, whether BLACK or WHITE.” (their caps)

Then, on page 15, it says: “The FLAT SIGN before a note means play the next key to the LEFT, whether BLACK or WHITE.” (still their caps)

I know what sharps and flats are. Or at least I thought I did. But does what they say in Alfred's mean that F natural can also be called E sharp? And that B natural can also be called C flat?

I always thought that sharps and flats were always black keys.

Can someone explain this to me the way they would to a child?

Thanks!

Send lawyers, guns and money...
P
4000 Post Club Member
4000 Post Club Member
P
Yes, F natural can also be called E sharp. And B natural can also be called C flat. Which name and notation is used depends on musical context. For example when you write out the notes of a scale each "letter" has to appear exactly once. So for example in the scale for F# major:

F# G# A# B C# D# E# F#