2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
72 members (Charles Cohen, AlkansBookcase, 36251, benkeys, 20/20 Vision, bcalvanese, booms, Bruce Sato, Carey, 10 invisible), 1,927 guests, and 262 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
500 Post Club Member
OP Offline
500 Post Club Member
I am learning some Bach inventions at the moment, right now it's the BWV 773 C minor.

I am just learning it by breaking it into sections, hands separate, hands together, slow tempo etc.

But knowing Bach, he probably had specific technical lessons in mind with each of the inventions, apart from learning contrapuntal playing and composition.

Is there a guide online (or elsewhere) that describes the "point" of each invention, what to focus on when practicing a specific invention?

Nordiska 120CA (Dongbei) upright from about 2004, Kawai MP11 digital piano, Sennheiser HD 600 headphones.
C
3000 Post Club Member
3000 Post Club Member
C
Each one is a different genre. Can anyone name some?

Laissez tomber les mains
500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member
In the notes in my Inventions book it says (for the No.2 in C minor):