2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
50 members (BillS728, anotherscott, AlkansBookcase, Carey, CharlesXX, bcalvanese, colinvda, Adam Reynolds, cascadia, 6 invisible), 2,122 guests, and 303 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
#2530783 04/15/16 05:43 AM
T
OP Offline
T
Yesterday I was in a pianostore where they sell digital piano's as well as acoustic piano's. When the salesman came up te me and I asked a question about digital piano's and told him I own a Kawai CA17 and that I'm a beginning student, he said: "well you're not going to play on that piano for a long time. Eventually you're going to buy an acoustic piano." He also added: "if you're playing for a couple of years, you're not going to progress anymore on a digital piano".
I was wondring: Are there many of you who only practice on a digital piano at home? Of course I enjoy playing on a grand much more, the touch and tone is so much better. But I always thought people who buy a real piano must be professional pianists. For me this is just a hobby, I would never spent the amount of money on a piano like I would spent it on a car. Plus I want to practice whenever i have the time, even in the evenings, so I need the ability to practice with headphones.
I really like playing the piano, and want to get really good at it, but I don't see myself buying an acoustic piano.

Tim

R
R
Is only one solution for you as a really good substitute of an acoustic piano - buying a good virtual piano like Synthogy Ivory (for example ) for computer/laptop and great midi controller like Kawai VPC1.