2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
57 members (Aleks_MG, accordeur, brdwyguy, Carey, AlkansBookcase, 20/20 Vision, 36251, benkeys, 9 invisible), 1,931 guests, and 319 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#2531434 04/17/16 09:09 AM
E
OP Offline
E
Hi there
I'm in my final year at university and I'm writing my dissertation on the advantages and disadvantages of grades and was wondering if anyone would be willing to comment on their personal teaching/studying experiences and how it affected them musically.
So, some general questions I would like to ask are:
· Positive and negative affects the grading system has on a typical learner?
· Do grades result in a competitive arena and is this right?
· Should music be measured?
· Should we use grades to define skills?
Or anything similar to these are welcomed.
Thank you in advance.

C
C
This is not an answer to your question, as I'm just a novice, not a teacher. However, I am intrigued at the topic.