2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
25 members (drumour, Hakki, crab89, EVC2017, clothearednincompo, APianistHasNoName, JohnCW, Kawai James, 8 invisible), 1,251 guests, and 286 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
C
OP Offline
C
As a beginner, I tend to watch videos as much as I find easy sheet music. Well, many videos appear on YouTube, and it seems that the gender ratio is skewed towards males. I did some browsing, and one article seemed to confirm that on YouTube, there are a lot of male pianists giving tutorials, but also added that most piano teachers are females. So, I suppose that evens out.

I don't think the gender ratio is important anyways. You can only distinguish the gender of the pianist, if the camera shows the pianist's body and the pianist is wearing gendered clothing, which often means some kind of formal wear. Hey, has anybody noticed that classical pianists wear formal wear, while pop pianists wear whatever they want?

D
500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member
D
I think it's pretty balanced, but does that ever comes into play?

as for wear, I think formal wear is to make an impression on the audience that this is a serious and well researched business. but I'm glad I can play with shorts and t-shirt at home. smile

unlocked by keys
wordless poetry sings free
- piano music -
B
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
B
Originally Posted by Compianist
on YouTube, there are a lot of male pianists giving tutorials, but also added that most piano teachers are females.

Most teachers (of anything) are female grin.

Male 'teachers' tend to be 'coaches' (of sports)......