2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
29 members (Burkhard, AlkansBookcase, brennbaer, cmoody31, 20/20 Vision, admodios, clothearednincompo, 8 invisible), 1,218 guests, and 328 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 5 of 5 1 2 3 4 5
G
Gary D. Offline OP
6000 Post Club Member
OP Offline
6000 Post Club Member
G
Originally Posted by doranws

I don't know, I had been playing all my major scales for many years and I never made the connection that the first four notes and the last four notes = WWH until I saw it in this Tobin piano book (Wizard's Way Piano Book 1). I don't think it's obvious for everyone, even those who know their scales well.

Something I keep talking about is the difference between people who just play and people who compose, arrange and improvise. Obviously you improvise, which is great. smile

My relationship to sound is different from many pianists because I am also a brass player and taught brass for many years. Scales are a much bigger part of brass playing than of piano playing. They are HUGELY important because they are part of every audition, including auditions for chairs.

I don't understand how anyone can hear C D E F and not associate that partly with what we hear at basketball games, the old Munsters theme. But also the last four notes of the Sorcerer's Apprentice. In both cases those four notes are the LAST four notes of a scale, not the first four notes. So for anyone who is listening, it should be obvious.