2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
30 members (crab89, CraiginNZ, bwv543, Cominut, Colin Miles, Andre Fadel, BWV846, 10 invisible), 1,234 guests, and 281 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
F
OP Offline
F
I'm finally gonna get rid of my acoustic piano this summer and am wondering if PX-5S is a good Digital Piano\Synthesizer alternative.
Even though I have the acoustic piano for two years now, I'm still a complete beginner because it is such a pain to play(literally):
1. I have to move furniture to play.
2. I am very tall. And that is a very huge problem for me when it comes to this piano. I can't operate the pedals and my back is always bent, and hurts, and I'm pretty sure that my wrists are positioned wrong...

The reason I'm thinking of going with the PX-5S is:
1. It doesn't have a stand.(which is a good thing, I'll build one or buy one that is sure to be for my size)
2. Has 88 keys. Which feel like a real piano.
3. Has full functionality of a synthesizer.
(Or so they say these things.)
BTW I know about the absence of speakers and an amp.
So what do you guys think, is it a good choice?

D
dmd Offline
5000 Post Club Member
5000 Post Club Member
D
I would go to a music store and try out some pianos or digital pianos and have someone there help you with your posture at the piano.

Or ...

Have a teacher come to your home and help you with your posture at the piano.

Or ....

Something else ... to help you with your posture at the piano.

Being tall is not a reason to have poor posture at the piano.

I would not buy anything until that issue has been resolved.