2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
59 members (Aleks_MG, accordeur, brdwyguy, Carey, AlkansBookcase, 20/20 Vision, Charles Cohen, 36251, benkeys, 6 invisible), 1,935 guests, and 310 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
D
dbach Offline OP
OP Offline
D
Hello. This is my first post here on PW and as an amateur pianist, I will post various questions and, through time, hope to be able to participate throughout the forum.

I wish to know what 'piano schools' both Schiff and Sokolov play. German? Russian? etc. I mention these two as they are my favourite pianists. Yet, I notice that they both play completely differently. Schiff sits very still, low and upright whereas Sokolov seems to sit high, moves a lot when he plays and hunches over the keyboard. Also, Schiff seems to sit further back from the keyboard whereas Sokolov seems to somewhat hunch over the keyboard, looking directly down to the keys.

I prefer how Schiff sits and plays at the piano. He said in a masterclass that the music should be flowing, not you. I agree with this.

I wish to study a particular method of 'school' (preferably Schiff) and would like any further information on their 'schools' and any other stylistic schooling that may be out there. French? Italian? etc.

I was led to this forum via the following thread:

http://www.pianoworld.com/forum/ubbthreads.php/topics/948834/5.html

Do Schiff and Sokolov employ the Arm Weight Technique? It seems to me that they do, though Sokolov's fingers do 'bounce' and 'fly' more than Schiff's.