2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
49 members (BillS728, anotherscott, AlkansBookcase, Carey, CharlesXX, bcalvanese, colinvda, Adam Reynolds, cascadia, 6 invisible), 2,119 guests, and 301 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
D
Davdoc Offline OP
OP Offline
D
Late last year, we bought a new NY Steinway Model A. The process and experience afterwards is another story in itself. At first it did suffer from the well known "soft hammers" (or heavy hammers as some respected techs on this forum suggested-I am not technical enough to know) problems, but now it has grown into a full, warm, sweet, but also formidable instrument that we like a lot. The splurging side of me still thinks about upgrading it to a 7-footer at some point.

But now this fully fledged instrument has put our older, 2005 Yamaha GB1 at a disadvantage. When playing 2-piano pieces with my wife, the GB1's sound was how I described as a drowning person: the head floats above the wave momentarily (because of its characteristic strident and bright attacks) but then is submerged by the strong overtone of the Steinway.