2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
41 members (alexcomoda, Animisha, benkeys, Burkhard, 20/20 Vision, AlkansBookcase, brennbaer, 9 invisible), 1,157 guests, and 317 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#2566109 08/25/16 11:19 PM
D
OP Offline
D
Hey guys...
I've been playing piano for about 10 years now... I am 16.
I haven't practiced any scales my entire life because my piano teacher never told me to practice them. Also, I have been choosing my pieces, they are not too difficult and are usually the contemporary genre. I have some Richard Clayderman in my repertoire like Hungarian Sonata, Marriage D' Amour, A Comme Amour, etc. I also know Yiruma pieces..... and a bunch of other random contemporary pieces. I want to challenge myself now so I am currently learning Mozart's Turkish March. I was wondering how long it would take for me to attempt a piece like Moonlight Sonata Third Movement when I have little to no technique. Also, should I start learning scales?

Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Originally Posted by davidc1215
...should I start learning scales?

If you've gotten this far without them, you don't have to.
But, if you're even half-interested, do it. You'll benefit from it!

....I was wondering how long it would take for me to attempt a piece like Moonlight Sonata Third Movement when I have little to no technique.

It depends on how well you're talking about playing it. If you mean at a sort-of-advanced level -- including at a speed close to how it's 'supposed to' go -- there's no way we can say. Depending on exactly how well you play now, it could be pretty soon, or it could be years.