2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
64 members (Bellyman, brennbaer, busa, Barly, 1957, btcomm, Animisha, 14 invisible), 2,018 guests, and 347 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 3 of 4 1 2 3 4
L
OP Offline
L
Bass Cadet, my main problem with buying a lower-quality piano is this: I also play the cello, and I own a very nice good quality cello as well. Nowhere near the price of a piano, but still. As a cellist I have no problem with the idea of buying a cello, and then selling it, and upgrading frequently. Every few years or so. I've upgraded about 2 times since I started playing as a small child. Since a cello holds it's value, that's easy to do but when you're talking a $25,000 instrument that loses value, the more you upgrade, the way I see it it's just the more money you spend in the long run. Which brings me back to wanting a quality instrument. My deal with a piano is that if I buy the right piano now, I can easily play it until I am, say 50. I mean a piano is an instrument that, if well-maintained will last easily half a lifetime. And maybe when I'm in my 40's, I can upgrade when I can afford to lose the money. Or heck! Just own multiple grands! lol. I mean my piano teacher bought her 9' Baldwin concert grand new in 1988 I think she said, and it's still in beautiful condition in her living room. It's a quality instrument to her that she was able to learn and grow on which is what I'm looking for.